Lubetkin Prize

Lubetkin Prize 2007

The RIBA Lubetkin Prize is awarded to the architect of the best International Award winning building.

The jury for 2007 was Niall McLaughlin, Chair of the RIBA Awards Group, Tony Chapman, RIBA Head of Awards, Jack Pringle, RIBA President, Edward Jones of Dixon Jones and Joanna van Heyningen of van Heyningen and Haward Architects.

The prize is named in honour of the Georgia-born architect, who worked in Paris before coming to London in the 1930s to establish the influential Tecton Group. 

Southern Cross Station in Melbourne by Grimshaw was the 2007 Lubetkin Prize winner.

The 2007 Lubetkin shortlist:

Des Moines Public Library


Architect: David Chipperfield Architects (Architect of Record: Herbert Lewis Kruse Blunck Architecture

Client:Des Moines Public Library

Photographer: Farshid Assassi


Hearst Tower


Architect: Foster + Partners

Assoicate Architect: Adamson Assoicates

Associate Architect, Fit-Out: Gensler

Client: The Hearst Corporation

Photographer: Nigel Young


Southern Cross Station


Architect: Grimshaw (working within the Grimshaw Jackson Joint Venture)

Client: Leighton

Photographer: Shannon McGrath

Top of page