Other architectural awards

Other Architectural Awards

Housing Design Awards 2013 - Entry now open

The country's Housing Design Awards, cited by the government in its Housing Strategy as how it champions design quality and innovation, are back for their 65th year.

The RIBA is represented on the multidisciplinary panel of 16 judges by David Levitt OBE and Richard Lavington. Entry fees have been frozen and practices submitting an entry this year are entitled to one copy of the 2012 illustrated database of submissions (normally priced at more than £100) thanks to the support of the Rooflite Company.

Closing date is 4 March. Full details at www.hdawards.org



Pritzker Architecture Prize 
The Pritzker Architecture Prize honours a living architect whose built work demonstrates a combination of talent, vision and commitment, and who has made consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture. 

British architect Richard Rogers has been chosen as the 2007 Pritzker Prize Laureate. Chair of the Jury Lord Palumbo cited Rogers' projects which define key architectural moments: Centre Georges Pompidou, Lloyd's of London and the 2006 Stirling Prize-winning Barajas Airport alongside Rogers championing of urban life and his planning work. The jury described Rogers as having an 'urbane and expansive outlook.' 

Rogers, who was the recipient of the Royal Gold Medal in 1985, is the fourth laureate from Britain, succeeding James Stirling (1981), Lord Foster (1999), Zaha Hadid (2004). Other recipients include Royal Gold Medallists Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron (2001), Rem Koolhaas (2000) and Rafael Moneo (1996).

Mies van der Rohe Architecture Awards
The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture 

Established by the Mies van der Rohe Foundation, the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture acknowledges and rewards contemporary architectural works of exceptional concept, aesthetics, technology and construction. 

The awards are biennial, with candidates put forward by a broad group of independent experts from all over Europe, as well as from the architects' associations that form part of the European Council of Architects and other European national architects' associations. 

Rem Koolhas's practice OMA was presented with the 2005 prize for the Dutch embassy building in Berlin. Norman Foster's RIBA Stirling Prize-winning 30 St Mary Axe, and Future Systems scheme Selfridges, Birmingham were finalists for the prize, which was presented on 11 April at the the Mies Van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona. 

Dutch firm NL Architects won the Emerging Architect Special Mention award for its BasketBar at the University of Utrecht. 

The 2005 jury was chaired by Zaha Hadid who won the prize in 2003 for her Car Park and Terminus Hoenheim North in Strasbourg, France. For a list of all commended projects and the jury for 2005, visit the Mies van der Rohe Architecture Awards website.

ACE/RIBA Award for Religious Architecture 
The Art and Christianity Enquiry's ACE Awards are designed to celebrate the successes and diversity of architectural and artistic projects in religious buildings. All entries for a work of religious architecture or landscape design from any faith tradition will be considered for the award of £3000. Entries must be in the United Kingdom and completed between within the last 5 years.

The 2007 prize was awarded to JBKS Architects with Robert Maguire for a new Roman Catholic Church in Basingstoke, dedicated to St Bede. £1,000 of the prize money was presented to Fr Vincent Harvey for the Parish. The church, which serves a large Catholic community in Basingstoke, encompasses a courtyard with a cloister-type configuration of auxillary buildings. The church itself is distinctive in its style: a seven-storey high ‘funnel’ brings daylight into the broad and spacious church, and detailing is quietly modern. 

The 2005 prize was awarded to Falconer Chester Architects for their works to the Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King, Liverpool. Maxwell Hutchinson, chair of the judging panel, commended the turn-around effect this project had made to the integration of the Metropolitan Cathedral into Liverpool’s urban fabric. Falconer Chester thanked Landscape Projects who had collaborated with them from the outset of the project, as well as staff from the cathedral. 

British Construction Industry Awards
featuring the Prime Minister's Better Public Building Award

The British Construction Industry Awards, introduced in 1988, recognise all-round excellence in design, procurement and construction to time and budget. The awards include the Prime Minister's Award, which is personally endorsed by the Prime Minister and forms part of the government’s Better Public Building Programme.
The award was won in 2006 by the City of London Academy, London SE1.
Other winners in 2006 included:

  • Environmental Award: Salcey Treetop Walk, Northamptonshire
  • Building Award: Heelis, Office for the National Trust, Swindon 

For more information contact:
David Helsen
BCI Awards Co-ordinator
Tel: 020 8786 6699 

UNESCO Heritage Awards 
The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards for Culture Heritage Conservation recognize the achievement of individuals and organizations within the private sector, and the public-private initiatives, in successfully restoring structures of heritage value in the region. 

In 2006 Shigar Fort Palace in Skardu, Northern Areas, Pakistan was honoured with the Award of Excellence in the UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards for Culture Heritage Conservation. 

Awards of Distinction went to Bund 18 (Shanghai, China) and Uch Monument Complex (Punjab, Pakistan).

Giles Worsley Travel Fellowship

The award is named after Giles Worsley, the distinguished architectural historian and critic. He was concerned that architecture schools do not give adequate emphasis to the teaching of architectural history and that architectural historians should be encouraged to experience the reality of influential Italian buildings. Each year, the Fellowship is awarded to an architect or architectural historian, who will spend three months (October to December) at the British School at Rome, studying an architectural topic of their choice. Travel, accommodation and board, and a monthly stipend of £700 will be provided. Each Fellow will be required to deliver a public presentation to a general audience on their return.

Previous holders of this Fellowship are Rebecca Madgin, Gwyn Lloyd Jones and Léa-Catherine Szacka. The 2011 - 2012 Fellow is Rashid Ali.

The closing date for the next applications is 1 February 2012.

Top of page