Stephen Lawrence Prize

Stephen Lawrence Prize

2010 winner

The Artist's House, a private house and office in Kensington, London by Gumuchdjian Architects, has won the 2010 Stephen Lawrence Prize.

Gumuchdjian Architects have successfully transformed a 1950s terraced house and garden into a bespoke family home, and inspiring office space, for the artist and writer clients. Executed with an understated confidence, the beautifully detailed, ‘floating’ stair provides the central internal focus. Views of the exotic garden are reflected into the basement kitchen through clever usage of a linear angled mirror above the work-surface.

The 2010 shortlist:

7 July Memorial

7 July Memorial, London by Carmody Groarke

Bus Driver Facility

Bus Driver Facility, Dagenham, London by Julian Cowie Architects

1-5 Bateman's Mews
Batemans Mews

1-5 Bateman's Mews, London SW4 by Anne Thorne Architects Partnership

The Artist's House

The Artist's House, Kensington, London by Gumuchdjian Architects  

Hunsett Mill

Hunsett Mill in Stalham, Norfolk, by Acme

Martello Tower Y

Martello Y Tower, Bawdsey, Suffolk by Piercy Connor Architects with Billings Jackson

About the Stephen Lawrence Prize

The Stephen Lawrence Prize is sponsored by the Goldschmied Foundation and is intended to encourage fresh talent working with a budget of under £1 million. 

The award is judged by architect Marco Goldschmied and Doreen Lawrence OBE, mother of the teenager who was setting out on the road to becoming an architect when he was murdered in 1993. 

Previous winners:

  • The 2006 winner was Wrap House by Alison Brooks Architects.
  • The 2007 winner was Wooda by David Sheppard Architects.
  • The 2008 winner was Sackler Crossing by John Pawson.
  • The 2009 winner was El Ray by Simon Conder Associates.

Marco Goldchmied logo

The Marco Goldschmied Foundation, together with the RIBA, established the prize in 1998 in memory of the murdered black teenager Stephen Lawrence who aspired to be an architect.

Top of page