Winner 2005

The Scottish Parliament

The Scottish Parliament won the 10th RIBA Stirling Prize in association with The Architects' Journal.
The presentation of the UK's premier architectural award took place at a glittering award ceremony at the Royal Museum, Edinburgh and was televised live on Channel 4 at 8pm, Saturday 15 October.
The Scottish Parliament beat off competition from five other shortlisted buildings, selected from RIBA Award winning buildings:

  • BMW Central Building, Leipzig, Germany - Zaha Hadid Architects
  • Lewis Glucksman Gallery, University College, Cork, Ireland – O'Donnell + Tuomey
  • The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh - EMBT / RMJM Ltd
  • McLaren Technology Centre, Woking, Surrey - Foster and Partners
  • Jubilee Library, Brighton, Sussex - Bennetts Associates with Lomax Cassidy + Edwards
  • Fawood Children's Centre, Harlesden, NW10 - Alsop Design Ltd

The 2005 jury was:

  • Jack Pringle, President Elect of the RIBA
  • Isabel Allen, editor of The Architects' Journal
  • Joan Bakewell, broadcaster and writer
  • Max Fordham, environmental engineer
  • Piers Gough, london-based architect, writer and broadcaster


Top of page