Royal Gold Medal online exhibition

Slipped through


Big Ben clock tower

Designer: Barry, Sir Charles (1795-1860); Pugin, Augustus Welby Northmore (1812-1852)
Copyright: Pawel Libera/RIBA British Architectural Library Photographs Collection (2002)

With only one recipient (or practice) of the medal each year, it's not surprising that there have been significant architects and individuals within the field who have slipped through the net. With over 300 nominations to choose from, over the 160 year history of the medal, we have highlighted just 20 potential winners below.

Aldo Rossi 1931-1997  

Antonio Gaudí y Cornet, 1852-1926

Augustus Welby Pugin, 1812-1852

Banister Flight Fletcher (Sir), 1866-1953

Basil Urwin Spence, 1907-1976 

Charles Rennie Mackintosh, 1868-1928

Colin St John Wilson 1922-2007

Eero Saarinen 1910-1961 

Eileen Gray, 1878-1976

Erno Goldfinger, 1902-1987

Gordon Bunshaft, 1909-1990 

Hugh Maxwell Casson, 1910-1999

Jane Drew 1911-1996

Luis Barragán, 1902-1988

Marcel Lajos Breuer, 1902-1981 

Oliver Hill, 1887-1968

Peter Behrens, 1868-1940

Philip Cortelyou Johnson, 1905-2005

Wells Wintemute Coates, 1895-1958

William Morris, 1834-1896