RGM medallists



Houses of Parliament, Westminster, London view from the south bank, 1860

Designers: Barry, Sir Charles (1795-1860); Pugin, Augustus Welby Northmore (1812-1852)
Copyright: Joe Low/RIBA Library Photographs Collection (1994)

1850 - Sir Charles Barry

1851 - Thomas Leverton Donaldson

1852 - Leo von Klenze, Austria

1853 - Sir Robert Smirke

1854 - Philip Hardwick

1855 - Jacques Ignace Hittorff, France

1856 - Sir William Tite

1857 - Owen Jones

1858 - Friedrich August Stüler, Germany

1859 - Sir George Gilbert Scott




RGM in historical context - world events in this decade

 1851 The Crystal Palace, home of the Great Exhibition is erected in Hyde Park, London, designed by Joseph Paxton. 
  Gottfried Semper publishes the first part of his book 'The Four Elements of Architecture'. 
 1852 Louis-Napoleon Bonaparte becomes Emperor Napoleon III of the French Second Empire. 
  The House of Commons in the Palace of Westminster, designed by Charles Barry and August Pugin, is completed. 
  King's Cross railway station, designed by Lewis Cubitt and constructed on the site of a former fever and smallpox hospital, is completed. 

The Crimean War (1854-56) is fought between the Russian Empire and an alliance of France, the UK, the Kingdom of Sardinia and the Ottoman Empire. It was considered the first 'modern' conflict which introduced technical changes affecting the future course of warfare. 

 1857 The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is founded by a group of 13 architects to 'promote the scientific and practical perfection of its members' and 'elevate the standing of the profession'.
 1859 London's Big Ben clock tower, designed by Charles Barry as part of his scheme for a new palace after the old Palace of Westminster was destroyed by fire in 1834, becomes fully operational. Although Barry was chief architect he turned to Augustus Pugin for the design of the clock tower. It is the world's biggest four-faced, chiming clock.