RGM medallists



The Council House, New Delhi

Designer: Baker, Sir Herbert (1862-1946)
Copyright: RIBA British Architectural Library Photographs Collection (1920s)

1920 - Charles Louis Girault, France

1921 - Sir Edwin Landseer Lutyens

1922 - Thomas Hastings, USA

1923 - Sir John James Burnet

1924 - No award 

1925 - Sir Giles Gilbert Scott 

1926 - Prof. Ragnar Ostberg, Sweden

1927 - Sir Herbert Baker

1928 - Sir Guy Dawber

1929 - Victor Alexandre Frederic Laloux, France  



RGM in historical context - world events in this decade

 1920 The Cenotaph in London, designed by Edwin Lutyens, is completed.  
 1921 The Einstein Tower near Potsdam, Germany, designed by Erich Mendelsohn is completed.
 1922 After three years of civil war Lenin declares Russia's New Economic Policy and the Bolsheviks form the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) from the former Russian Empire. 
  Mussolini becomes Italy's Prime Minister and starts a fascist dictatorship 
  The Irish Civil War establishes the Irish Free State under British dominion and without the six counties of Northern Ireland. The war claimed more lives than the War of Independence that preceded it and left Irish society deeply divided. 
 1923 Vers une Architecture by Le Corbusier (later translated into English as Towards a New Architecture) is published.  
 1925 Hitler publishes Mein Kampf, a book that foreshadows many of the events of the 1930s. 
 1927 Battersea Power Station in London, designed by Giles Gilbert Scott, is completed.  
 1929 The Barcelona Pavilion, designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, is erected. 
  Paimio Sanatorium in Finland, designed by Alvar Aalto, is completed.