RGM medallists



Labworth Cafe, Canvey Island

Designer: Arup, Sir Ove (1895-1988)
Copyright: Morley von Sternberg/RIBA British Architectural Library Photographs Collection (2003)

1960 - Prof. Pier Luigi Nervi, Italy

1961 - Lewis Mumford, USA

1962 - Sven Gottfried Markelius, Sweden

1963 - The Lord Holford

1964 - Edwin Maxwell Fry   

1965 - Kenzo Tange, Japan

1966 - Ove Arup

1967 - Sir Nikolaus Pevsner

1968 - Richard Buckminster Fuller, USA

1969 - Jack Antonio Coia 





RGM in historical context - world events in this decade

 1961 The Space Needle in Seattle, Washington, is completed. 
  Archigram begins to dominate the architectural avant-garde with its playful, pop-inspired visions of a technocratic future after it is formed by a group of young London architects: Warren Chalk, Peter Cook, Dennis Crompton, David Greene, Ron Herron and Michael Webb. 
  The Death and Life of Great American Cities by Jane Jacobs is published. 
 1962 Coventry Cathedral in England, designed by Basil Spence, is completed. 
 1963 US President John F. Kennedy is assassinated. 
 1964 The Tokyo Olympic Arena, designed by Kenzo Tange, is completed.  
  The BT Tower in London, designed by the architects of the Ministry of Public Building and Works (chiefly Eric Bedford and G. R. Yeats) is topped out.  
 1966 Complexity and Contradiction in Architecture by Robert Venturi is published, his first attack on modernist architecture. 
 1968 The Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin, designed by Mies van der Rohe, is opened. 
 1969 US astronauts Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin achieve the world's first moon landing.