RGM medallists



Royal National Theatre, South Bank, London

Designer: Denys Lasdun & Partners
Copyright: Janet Hall/RIBA British Architectural Library Photographs Collection (1995)

1970 - Robert Matthew

1971 - Hubert de Cronin Hastings

1972 - Louis I Kahn, USA

1973 - Sir Leslie Martin

1974 - Powell and Moya

1975 - Michael Scott, Ireland

1976 - Sir John Summerson

1977 - Sir Denys Lasdun

1978 - Jørn Utzon, Denmark

1979 - Charles and Ray Eames, USA   






RGM in historical context - world events in this decade

 1970s This decade saw the start of a mainstream affirmation of the environmental issues early activists from the 1960s had warned of. The moon landing that occurred at the end of the previous decade which transmitted back images of the Earth helped to shape public willingness to preserve nature. 
  This decade also witnessed the birth of modern computing, including personal computers, pocket calculators and consumer video games. 
 1970 The Aswan High Dam in Egypt is completed. 
The Cathedral of Brasilia, designed by Oscar Niemeyer, is completed. 
 1972 The Brunswick Centre in London, designed by Patrick Hodgkinson is completed, recognized today as an archetype of urban, mixed-use development. 
  Learning from Las Vegas by Robert Venturi, Steven Izenour and Denise Scott Brown is published.  
 1973 The Paris Peace Accords are signed by North Vietnam, South Vietnam and the United States, intended to end the Vietnam War.  
  The Sears Tower in Chicago, designed by Skidmore, Owings and Merrill, becomes the tallest building in the world.
  The Sydney Opera House, designed by Jørn Utzon, is opened.  
 1976 The National Theatre in London, designed by Denys Lasdun, is completed.  
 1977 The NASA funded Voyager Program is launched into space. Designed to study Jupiter and Saturn, the two probes were in fact able to continue their mission into the outer solar system. 
  The Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris, designed by Renzo Piano, Richard Rogers and Gianfranco Franchini, is opened.
  The Language of Postmodern Architecture by Charles Jencks is published.  
 1979 The Pritzker Prize is instituted by Jay A. Pritzker.