Advanced CPD Conservation Skills

Prescribed courses for RIBA Conservation Register

The RIBA Conservation Register enables those looking to commission work on heritage buildings to find architects with the specific skills and experience that they require, encompassing all aspects of historic building conservation, repair and maintenance. The Register has three levels of membership, which equate to knowledge and experience in the field:

  • Specialist Conservation Architect (SCA)
  • Conservation Architect (CA)
  • Conservation Registrant (CR)

Some potential registrants may find that they have insufficient practical experience in conservation work to gain entry at the higher and more experienced SCA or CA levels. They can, however, apply for the entry level as a Conservation Registrant (CR). This level is suitable for those working on the repair, maintenance, alteration and refurbishment of heritage buildings - for example, unlisted buildings in conservation areas, locally important historic buildings and the general pre-1919 building stock.

RIBA-recognised preparatory courses

Among the criteria for entry as a CR include the completion of an appropriate preparatory introductory conservation training course identified by the RIBA. We recognise a number of courses, the successful completion of which could provide evidence for your application to the register at CR level:

RIBA-recognised courses meet the following criteria:

  • They are based on the ICOMOS Education and Training Guidelines
  • There is a minimum of 21 hours' structured learning
  • They cover a number of topics required by the RIBA for introductory understanding of conservation work

Evidence must be provided by the course provider that candidates have satisfactorily completed the course. Courses vary in terms of timing and delivery method, so you can choose one that best meets your learning needs, time, budget and style. 

Contact the providers directly for course registration and for any questions on the individual courses. 

Further information: RIBA Conservation Register.

Top of page