Awards programme

RIBA Annie Spink Award

RIBA Annie Spink Award

The RIBA presents the Annie Spink Award biennially in recognition of an outstanding contribution to architectural education.

The Annie Spink Award is open to teachers (individuals or groups) working on any internationally recognised RIBA course who
are involved in the development of
architectural education and engage with the
process of teaching and learning.

The award is financed by the Annie Spink
Trust Fund, which was established in 1974 by
architect Herbert Spink FRIBA. He bequeathed the trust as a lasting memorial to his wife Annie, who died in 1938, and conceived it as an honor for the 'advancement of architectural education'.


Past winners of the RIBA Annie Spink Award

2012: Professor Nigel Coates
2010: Professor Dean Hawkes

2008: Joint award to Professor Andrew MacMillan and Professor Isi Metzstein
2006: Professor Dalibor Vesely
: Shared award to Peter Salter and Wolf Prix 
2002: Joint award to Professor Peter Cook and Professor David Greene 
2000: Professor Elia Zenghelis

Eligibility criteria

  • The nominee(s) should have made a substantial contribution to architectural education over a number of years on a course validated by the RIBA.
  • The nominee(s) do not need to be RIBA members, however, preference will be given to nominees who are RIBA members.
  • The award can be made to an individual teacher or to a group of individuals.
  • The nominee must have been involved with the process of teaching and learning.
  • The nominee(s) may have been involved in the development of architectural education
  • Nominations can be made by a third party or can be made directly by the individual/group nominee.
  • Employees of the RIBA, or close family, are not eligible for nomination.
  • The RIBA Vice President Education, Education Award Advisors and current Annie Spink judges are not eligible for nomination.

How to apply

Nominees must provide the following information:

  • Curriculum Vitae including full details of RIBA validated courses where the nominee(s) have taught
  • Statement of Eligibility which describes how the nominee(s) meet the nomination criteria. (One side of A4 only)
  • up to 6 letters of citation from employers, work colleagues, distinguished architects or academics or other bodies relevant to the application
  • between 4 -10 letters of support from past students
  • any supporting information that the nominee considers relevant to the application.


Call for entries for the next award will be announced in April 2014.


For more information, please contact: 
John-Paul Nunes
RIBA Education Department
66 Portland Place
London W1B 1AD
Tel: +44 (0)20 7307 3604
Fax: + 44 (0)20 7307 3754



Top of page