RIBA Boyd Auger Scholarship

RIBA Boyd Auger Scholarship

2014 RIBA Boyd Auger Scholarship launched

The RIBA Boyd Auger Scholarship aims to support applicants in their personal, professional and academic development within the architectural field by providing them with an opportunity to undergo a period of imaginative and original research and travel. 

The Scholarship, worth £5,000, will support either

  • one student or graduate or a group of students or graduates for a period of closely defined architectural research between 6 and 12 months.


  • one student or graduate for a period of international travel on a topic and at locations of the applicant’s choosing. This can tie-in with a period of international work experience, but the emphasis of the scholarship should be on the opportunity to travel in the chosen location.

All applicants must:

  • be enrolled in a RIBA validated Part 1, 2 or 3 course or with candidate course status, in the UK or overseas or have been granted a place of study in a validated or candidate Architecture course by the beginning of the period covered by the Bursary (Part 2 only)
  • have graduated from a RIBA validated Part 1, 2 course or with candidate course status within the past 5 years

Employees or family members of the RIBA, the Auger family, trustees or members of the ETFC will not be eligible to apply for the scholarship.

Preference will be given to applicants who are RIBA members.

The deadline for applications is 12pm on Monday 2 June 2014.

Please find the guidance notes and application form below. For any further questions, please contact Hayley Russell on hayley.russell@riba.org or on 020 7307 3678.

About the scholarship

In 2007 Mrs Margot Auger donated a sum of money to the RIBA in memory of her late husband, the architect and civil engineer Boyd Auger, for the creation and administration of a funding scheme to reward a student or group of students of architecture. The scholarship was first awarded in 2008 and has funded eight talented students since.

Boyd Auger achieved international fame in 1968 when he used computer programming to address a difficult housing problem in Italy. Even though the project was never built, Auger’s proposal was exhibited at the Royal Academy in London and his radically innovative methods (which maximised light, view and privacy in housing design) were featured in the BBC television programme ‘Cities of the Future’. In 1969 he won the Reynold Memorial Award by the American Institute of Architects for best use of aluminium in his Gyrotron project, a 200-foot space-frame structure built in 1967 for the Montreal Expo. His was the second ever British project to receive the Reynold Memorial award, following James Stirling and James Gowan in 1965 for their engineering block at Leicester University.

The RIBA Boyd Auger Scholarships honours Boyd Auger’s belief that architects always learn while they travel and, as such, it supports young people who wish to undertake imaginative and original research during periods of travel abroad. The scholarship aims to support architecture students, graduates, academics and recently-qualified architects to produce a piece of research in the field of Architecture or to support a student undergoing a period of professional practice internationally after successful completion of Part 1 and prior to enrolling in the Part 2.

Past recipients of the scholarship

2013 - Laura Minca

2012 - Jo Ashbridge

2011 - John Killock

2009 - Roderick Bow

2009 - James Patterson-Waterston

2009 - Isona Shibata

2008 - Stefanie Rhodes, Shamoon Patwari and Bo Tang

Top of page