Student Funding

RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarships

2014 RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarships launched

The RIBA Insurance Association Scholarships were established in March 2013 following a generous donation by The Wren Insurance Association Limited, the architects’ professional indemnity mutual that currently comprises 56 of the UK’s leading architectural practices.

The scholarships aim to support outstanding Part 2 students who have the potential to make a significant contribution in the field of architecture.

Five scholarships worth £5,000 each are available for the 2014/15 application cycle. At the time of application, students must be enrolled in an RIBA-validated Part 2 professional qualification course in the UK, and will be starting the final year in September 2014.

Preference will be given to applicants who are RIBA members. (Student membership of the RIBA is free).

The deadline for receipt of applications is 5pm on Monday 5 May 2014.

How to Apply
Please download the application form and guidance below:

All completed applications should be sent to Hayley Russell, Education Projects Coordinator at All electronic files over 8MB, should be sent via an external FTP site such as Large files will not get through via email.

If you have any questions regarding the RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarships, please contact Hayley Russell, Education Projects Coordinator on or 020 7307 3678.

2013 RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholars

The 2013 winners were: 

Laura Cannon, University of Dundee


Piotr Garstecki, University of Westminster


Erl Johnston, Queen's University Belfast


Megan Passey, Oxford Brookes University


James Pockson, Royal College of Art



RIBA President Angela Brady said:

'Congratulations to the recipients of this year’s scholarships, I wish them the very best for their final year of the Part 2. These generous scholarships, made possible by The Wren Insurance Association, will provide these talented students with financial support at an important stage of their architectural education. I am also delighted that the Members of  The Wren Insurance Association Limited are supporting the next generation of talented architects through mentoring.'

Richard Pullen, Chairman of Wren, said:

'I am delighted to announce that Laura Cannon, Piotr Garstecki, Erl Johnston, Megan Passey and James Pockson are the inaugural winners of the first five RIBA Wren Scholarships. Our insurance mutual, having enjoyed over 25 successful years, decided to mark its quarter century by making available a scholarship fund of £25,000 per year to Part 2 students at a time when the cost of qualification can be overwhelming. We are also offering the successful students the opportunity of being mentored by some of the UK’s leading architectural firms. The Wren Members, having helped each other over the last 25 years, feel it is appropriate to support and encourage the next generation of talented architects who have the potential to make a significant contribution to the field of architecture.' 

Examples of the winning work can be found below:


Top of page