News feeds|  RSS|

RIBA President's Awards for Research 2008 shortlist announced


28 July 2008

Press office contact:

Mina Vadon
T: +44 (0)207 307 3761
E: mina.vadon@riba.org

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) today announced the shortlist for the annual RIBA President's Awards for Research 2008. The awards reward and encourage outstanding research in architecture.

Twelve pieces were selected for the final stage of judging in three categories:

  • PhD Thesis: for the best PhD Thesis from an RIBA-validated School of Architecture
  • University-located Research: for a completed research project based or initiated in an RIBA-validated School of Architecture
  • Professional Practice-located Research : for a completed research project initiated by an RIBA member or RIBA Chartered Practice


The following pieces of research have been shortlisted:

PhD Thesis

  • Oral Towns' by Gil P Klein, University of Cambridge
  • The Aesthetics of Emergence' by Pia Ednie-Brown, RMIT University
  • 'The Inhabitable Flesh of Architecture' by Marcos Cruz, Bartlett School of Architecture
  • 'A Whirl of Wonders' by Josephine Kane, Bartlett School of Architecture


University-located Research

  • 'Architecture and the Special Relationship' by Murray Fraser, University of Westminster
  • 'Architecture and Music in Renaissance Venice' by Deborah Howard, University of Cambridge
  • 'Thinkers for Architects' by Adam Sharr, Cardiff University
  • 'Fabricformwork' by Alan Chandler and Remo Pedreschi, University of East London
  • 'The Blossoming of Perspective' by Penelope Haralambidou, Bartlett School of Architecture


Professional Practice-located Research

  • 'National College for Schools Leadership Programme Support' by Andrew Harrison, DEGW
  • '160 Tooley Street ' by Ian McArdle, AHMM
  • 'The ZEDbook' by Bill Dunster, ZEDfactory


All entries were assessed in terms of how they contribute new knowledge and understanding to architecture, in terms of originality, significance and rigour. The winning pieces must be regarded as an exceptional contribution to architectural knowledge.


RIBA President's Awards for Research winners will be notified in November 2008. Certificates will be awarded to winners at a ceremony celebrating Education and Research Awards on 24 April 2009 at the RIBA HQ in London.


Peter Gibbs-Kennet from the RIBA R&D Committee said:

"Our aims are that the profession, through the RIBA, should encourage, recognise and reward the valuable efforts of all those engaged in research, especially among the coming generations. It is a great pleasure to encounter the great variety of projects being undertaken in line with the broad remit of the Charter and scope of Architecture. We hope that this early success will encourage more good-quality submissions of a wide range from researchers in academic and practice contexts, including those based outside the UK."


Richard Coyne, Head of School (Arts, Culture and Environment) at Edinburgh University, and Chair of the Awards judging panel said:

"This is the third year of the competition and we are already seeing an increased interest in these awards. It clearly benefits the recipients of the award in disseminating their research more widely and draws attention to the quality of architectural research in both the Higher Education sector and in practice."

Notes to editors

  1. For more press information, contact Mina Vadon in the RIBA Press Office on 020 7307 3716 or mina.vadon@inst.riba.org
  2. The judging panel is appointed by the RIBA Research and Development Committee and approved by the President. This year's panel comprises of Richard Coyne (University of Edinburgh), Felipe Hernandes University of Liverpool), Peter Clegg (Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios), Sarah Featherstone (Featherstone Associates), Brian Ford (University of Nottingham), and Sarah Wigglesworth (Sarah Wigglesworth Architects).
  3. For further information about the work of the RIBA's Research and Development Departament, please email research@inst.riba.org or telephone Anna Gagliano on 020 7307 3714.


Top of page|