News feeds|  RSS|

RIBA announces 14 new Honorary Fellowships


06 December 2011

Press release contact:

Tessa Kordeczka
T: +44 (0)207 307 3761
E: Tessa.Kordeczka@riba.org

The Royal Institute of British Architects' (RIBA) Council today approved 14 new RIBA Honorary Fellowships to reward individuals from a wide range of backgrounds, including politics, journalism, architecture, engineering and the arts.

RIBA Honorary Fellowships are awarded annually to people who have made a particular contribution to architecture – in the broadest sense. This includes its promotion, administration and outreach; and its role in building more sustainable communities and in the education of future generations.

The 2012 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be awarded to:

  • Nicole Crockett, Chief Executive, Building Exploratory 
  • Robert Elwall Assistant, Director, Photographs Collection, British Architectural Library, RIBA
  • Adrian Forty, academic and writer
  • Malcolm Hankey, Managing Director, Civic Trust Awards
  • Boris Johnson, Mayor of London
  • Doug King, environmental engineer, King Shaw Associates
  • Fiona MacCarthy, writer
  • Frank McDonald, Environment Editor, Irish Times
  • Sandra O'Connell, writer and curator, Open House Dublin
  • Peter Wynne Rees, Chief Planning Officer, City of London
  • Peter Salter, academic and writer
  • Richard Simmons, academic and former Chief Executive, CABE
  • Chris Smith, National Planning Director, English Heritage
  • Ai Weiwei, artist

The RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be presented at a ceremony at the RIBA in London on 9 February 2012.

Speaking today, RIBA President Angela Brady said:

'Each of this year's Honorary Fellows has made an enormous contribution to architecture, whether as a practitioner, designer, curator, writer or policy maker. The RIBA values everything that they have brought – in their very different ways – to the knowledge, understanding and appreciation of the world of architecture. I look forward to presenting them with their Honorary Fellowships in February.'

This year's RIBA Honours Committee was chaired by RIBA President Angela Brady and included architects David Adjaye, Yvonne Farrell, Niall McLaughlin, Sarah Wigglesworth, and Sir Terence Conran.

This lifetime honour allows recipients to use the initials Hon FRIBA after their name.

Notes to editors

1. For further press information contact Tessa Kordeczka in the RIBA Press Office on 020 7307 3662 or email tessa.kordeczka@riba.org|.  
2. Honorary Fellowships are awarded by the RIBA Council each year to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the quality of architecture, the achievements of the profession and the aims and objectives of the RIBA. Any person who is not an architect may be nominated by RIBA members and elected as an Honorary Fellow.


Top of page|