News feeds|  RSS|

RIBA names seven new International Fellowships


06 December 2011

Press release contact:

Tessa Kordeczka
T: +44 (0)207 307 3761
E: Tessa.Kordeczka@riba.org

The Royal Institute of British Architects' (RIBA) Council today approved seven new RIBA International Fellowships. This lifetime honour is conferred annually by the RIBA to recognise and reward the particular contribution to architecture made by architects from countries other than the United Kingdom.

The 2012 RIBA International Fellowships have been awarded to:

  • Atelier Bow-Wow: Momoyo Kaijima and Yoshiharu Tsukamoto, Japan
  • Carlos Ferrater, Office of Architecture in Barcelona (OAB), Spain
  • Sou Fujimoto, Sou Fujimoto Architects, Japan
  • Anna Heringer, Germany/Austria
  • Christian Kerez, Switzerland
  • Francisco Mangado, Spain

Speaking today, RIBA President Angela Brady said:

'The RIBA is delighted to honour all seven new International Fellows. Each has made a major contribution to the world of architecture.

Three of the 2012 International Fellows come from Japan; the others from Germany, Spain and Switzerland. The inspiration and influence of their work, however, extends beyond their borders. They join an illustrious list of architects honoured by the RIBA as International Fellows.'

This year's RIBA Honours Committee was chaired by RIBA President Angela Brady and included architects David Adjaye, Yvonne Farrell, Niall Mc Laughlin, Sarah Wigglesworth, and Sir Terence Conran.

The International Fellowships will be presented at a ceremony at the RIBA in London on 9 February 2012.

Those receiving an International Fellowship may use Int FRIBA after their name.

Notes to editors

1. For further press information contact Tessa Kordeczka in the RIBA Press Office on 020 7307 3761 or email tessa.kordeczka@riba.org|.  
2. The RIBA International Fellows honour was created in 2006. Odile Decq, Jan Gehl, Herman Hertzberger, Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron, Denise Scott Brown, Kazuyo Sejima, Alvaro Siza, Kenzo Tange, Yoshio Taniguchi, Benedetta Tagliabue and Peter Zumthor, among many others, have previously received RIBA International Fellowships.


Top of page|