News feeds  RSS

Royal Gold Medal and Fellowships 2009 - call for nominations


06 March 2008

Press office contact:

Helen Rix
T: +44 (0)207 307 3884
E: helen.rix@riba.org

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is seeking nominations for the 2009 Royal Gold Medal and Honorary and International Fellows.

The Royal Gold Medal is a lifetime achievement award, approved by Her Majesty the Queen, to an architect or group of architects for a body of work. Any member of the RIBA is eligible to nominate a candidate. Recent winners include Frank Gehry (2000), Archigram (2002), Toyo Ito (2006), Herzog and de Meuron (2007) and Ted Cullinan (2008). A full list of winners can be found in the awards section of the RIBA’s website: http://www.architecture.com/

RIBA Honorary Fellowships are awarded to non-architects who have made a particular contribution to architecture in its broadest sense: its promotion, administration and outreach; its role in building more sustainable communities; and its role in the education of future generations. Nominations must be made by an RIBA member. Those who have received Honorary Fellowships in the past come from fields as diverse as journalism, design, broadcasting, art, engineering and politics.

RIBA International Fellowships are awarded to architects who are not citizens of the UK, who are not already members of the RIBA and who exhibit distinction and breadth in their contribution to architecture. Nominations must be made by an RIBA member. Previous International Fellows include distinguished figures such as Paulo Mendes da Rocha, Yoshio Taniguchi, Kazuyo Sejima, Shigeru Ban and Rafael Viñoly.

Nomination papers are available from Tony Chapman, Head of Awards on 020 7307 3632 or tony.chapman@inst.riba.org or from the awards section of the RIBA website. The closing date for nominations is 30 May 2008.

The 2009 Honours Committee will be chaired by Sunand Prasad, RIBA President. The other members of the Honours Committee are:

Peter Davey OBE, architectural writer

Sir Jeremy Dixon, Dixon Jones Ltd

Prof Kenneth Frampton, Columbia University

Despina Katsikakis, DEGW

Pankaj Patel, Patel Taylor Architects

Jane Wernick Hon FRIBA, Jane Wernick Associates



Notes to editors

For further information contact Helen Rix in the RIBA Press Office: helen.rix@inst.riba.org or 020 7307 3884.



Top of page