News feeds|  RSS|

RIBA Awards programme 2010: call for entries


14 January 2010

Press office contact:

Beatrice Cooke
T: +44 (0)207 307 3813
E: beatrice.cooke@riba.org

Closing date for entries: 19 February 2010

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is once again on the lookout for potential RIBA Prize winners. Following on from the success of the Maggie’s Centre in London, last year’s Stirling Prize winner designed by Rogers, Stirk, Harbour + Partners, the search has begun to find the best examples of new British architecture. Practices up and down the country are urged to submit projects of architectural excellence into the 2010 RIBA Awards scheme.

The RIBA awards programme, supported by the Architects’ Journal, is unchanged from the 2009 Awards. RIBA Awards will be judged locally and announced in each RIBA region on 20 May. The RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist is selected following further visits to winners of the RIBA Awards and of RIBA European Awards for buildings in the rest of the EU.

Now in its fifth year, the Lubetkin Prize shortlist is drawn from winners of RIBA International Awards for buildings in the rest of the world. The Lubetkin Prize will be presented to the most outstanding work of architecture outside the UK and the European Union by an RIBA member.

All RIBA Award winners will be eligible for a series of special awards to be presented at the RIBA Stirling Prize Dinner in London on 9 October 2010.

Once again the RIBA’s commitment to sustainable architecture is reflected in its awards programme, with all entries requiring a description of the building's performance in use with particular reference to energy use. Energy performance statistics, signed by an environmental engineer, are highly desirable for all entries and mandatory for those projects with a contract value over £1 million.

Any building by an RIBA Chartered member or RIBA International Fellow is eligible to enter all awards. Buildings must be completed and occupied between the dates of 1 January 2008 and 19 February 2010. The closing date for entries is at 17.00 on 19 February 2010.

Entry forms can now be downloaded from www.architecture.com/awards. Any queries to Clemency Christopherson in the RIBA Awards Office on 020 7307 3715 or awards@inst.riba.org|


Notes to editors

1. For further press information contact Beatrice Cooke in the RIBA Press Office on 020 7307 3813 or beatrice.cooke@inst.riba.org

2. The full list of the RIBA Awards 2010 are as follows:

RIBA Awards

For buildings in the UK - to be presented in the nations or region in which they are won.

RIBA Client of the Year

A prize of £5,000 to honour the key role that a good client plays in the creation of fine architecture.

RIBA European Awards

For buildings in the European Union (minus the UK).

RIBA International Awards

These awards reward the excellent work being done by RIBA members around the world.

The Lubetkin Prize will be awarded to the best RIBA International Award-winning scheme. The award is given to the architect of the best building outside the EU by an RIBA member and is named in honour of the Royal Gold Medallist Berthold Lubetkin. The prize expresses the RIBA’s commitment to international architecture.

The following prizes will be presented in London on Saturday 9 October 2010:

The RIBA Stirling Prize

A trophy and £20,000 cheque will be presented to the architects of the building in the EU thought to be the most significant of the year for the evolution of architecture and the built environment.

Winners of RIBA Awards will be eligible for the following awards:

The Crown Estate Conservation Award

A prize of £5,000 to the architects of the best work of conservation which demonstrates successful restoration and/or adaptation of an architecturally significant building.

The Manser Medal for Houses and Housing sponsored by the Rooflight Company

A £5,000 prize for the best example in the UK of a one-off house or housing which demonstrates innovation in the design and technology of housing. Note from 2008 the prize is open to housing schemes but not major extensions to single houses.

The RIBA CABE Public Space Award

The £5,000 prize will be presented to the architects of the best space between buildings and recognises the growing importance and valuable contribution well designed public spaces make to the quality of our built environment and to our daily lives.

The RIBA Sorrell Foundation Schools Award

A prize of £5,000 to the architects of the best RIBA Award-winning school (primary or secondary) with the aim of raising the standards of design in all new school building.

The RIBA English Partnerships Sustainability Award

A £5,000 prize for the architects of the building which demonstrates most elegantly and durably the principles of sustainable architecture. Entries must be accompanied by detailed energy performance figures.

The Stephen Lawrence Prize

The £5,000 prize for the best building anywhere in the European Union

with a construction budget of less than £1 million is sponsored by the Marco Goldschmied Foundation, which also funds a £10,000 scholarship at the Architectural Association..

The RIBA Awards and RIBA Stirling Prize are managed by the RIBA Trust. The RIBA Trust manages the cultural assets of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), including the internationally recognised collections of the British Architectural Library. It is the UK’s national architecture centre, delivering the RIBA Awards and RIBA Stirling Prize (live on Channel 4); the Royal Gold Medal; International and Honorary Fellowships; a full programme of lectures, exhibitions, tours and other events; and an education programme.

3. Established in 1895, The Architects' Journal has consistently been at the forefront of architectural publishing. Its weekly news coverage, comprehensive building studies and in-depth technical and practice features make it essential reading for the profession, and its incisive commentary makes it a must-read for opinion formers. The AJ is the UK's leading independent architectural magazine, whose authoritative voice has informed generations of architects. For more information on the RIBA Awards visit the AJ website at www.architectsjournal.co.uk



Top of page|