Our structure


The President

Our president is elected for a two-year term by our members. The current President, Stephen Hodder, was educated at the School of Architecture, University of Manchester, where he gained a Distinction in the Bachelor of Architecture degree. Following university he joined the Building Design Partnership in 1981 and became a member of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 1982. He has been in practice since 1983. Hodder + Partners has now won over 30 major awards, most notably the Royal Fine Art Commission/Sunday Times Building of the Year Award for Colne Swimming Pool in 1992, and the inaugural Stirling Prize for Architecture for the Centenary Building, University of Salford in 1996. Stephen has written and lectured widely, has been a visiting examiner at a number of schools of architecture and was until recently the visiting professor at the Birmingham School of Architecture. He regularly acts as an assessor for architectural competitions and awards systems. He was awarded an MBE for services to architecture in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List in 1998. He received an honorary doctorate in 2006 from the Manchester Metropolitan University for his regional, national and international contribution to architecture and won the Roses Design Award for 'Architect of the Year' in the same year. Stephen served as our Vice President Membership (Nations and Regions) before becoming RIBA President on 1 September 2013.  

The Chief Executive

Harry Rich leads the professional team of some 200 in London and around the country. Before joining us he was Chief Executive of Enterprise UK and, prior to this, Deputy Chief Executive at the Design Council. Listen to Harry speak about the RIBA and the architectural profession in an interview with Richard Steer, courtesy of www.gleeds.tv:  

Richard Steer in conversation with Harry Rich

Senior management

Group Executive  

Chief Executive Harry Rich
Executive Director Membership and Profession Richard Brindley
Chief Operating Officer  Andy Munro
Executive Director Nations & Regions Elizabeth Robertson
Chief Executive RIBA Enterprises Richard Waterhouse
Executive Director Communication & Outreach Gill Webber   

Senior staff  

Executive Director Membership & Profession Richard Brindley 
Director of Development Lottie Cole
Partnerships Director RIBA Enterprises Steve Cross
Director of Membership Oliver Escritt
Director of Practice Adrian Dobson
Director of Library Wendy Fish
Director of Education David Gloster
Director of Nations & Regions Operations William Hawkins
Director of Nations & Regions Programmes Belinda Irlam-Mowbray
Head of Marketing Maxine McKenzie
Chief Operating Officer Andy Munro
Head of Finance Tony Phillips 
Executive Director Nations & Regions Elizabeth Robertson
Head of External Affairs Anna Scott-Marshall
Head of Human Resources Sally Davies
Chief Executive RIBA Enterprises Richard Waterhouse
Executive Director Communication & Outreach Gill Webber   

Regional Directors 

East Midlands Mike Baulcombe
Yorkshire Emma England 
West Midlands Matthew Dobson
North East Amanda McManus
South/South East James Robinson
North West Andrew Ruffler
London Tamsie Thomson
East Louise Todd
South West Jon Watkins
RSAW Mary Wrenn