RIBA Board

The RIBA is a registered charity. Ultimate authority is vested in an elected Council of around 60 chartered members. The Council determines major issues of policy and appoints the members of the boards and main committees. The RIBA Board assumes fiduciary responsibility for the Institute and executes its business plan. It also has oversight of the RIBA's main committees and of its commercial arm, RIBA Enterprises.

meeting dates 2013/14

21 November 2013
12 December 2013
19 February 2014
24 April 2014
12 June 2014

Board trustees 

Geoff Alsop

Roz Barr

Angela Brady

Anthony Clerici

Jonathan Falkingham

Stephen Hodder

Mathias, Peter

Suzanne McCarthy

Roger Mosey

Peter Oborn

Yasmin Shariff

Dale Sinclair

Peter Udall

Pierre Wassenaar

Edward Williams


Seven main committees and a number of sub-committees develop and advise on policies and activities of the institute. All main committees report to the RIBA Board. They are chaired by the relevant vice-president.  

The committees advise on the formulation of policy and strategy relevant for their areas, recommending priorities for the business plan and budget (both income and expenditure).

They also review the implementation of Council policies and the progress of work against agreed objectives. They appoint task groups and specialist advisers for relevant projects and subjects.

Committees and meeting dates 2014

british architectural trust board

Roger Mosey (Chair)
Stephen Hodder PRIBA (ex-officio)
Deborah Howard
Christopher Howes
Ivan Jordan
Nick Pearce
Vinesh Pomal 
Elena Tsolakis
Alex Scott-Whitby
Edward Williams
Suzi Winstanley
Gillian Wolfe 

5 February 2014
4 June 2014
2 October 2014 

education committee

Roz Barr (Chair) 
Eamonn Canniffe
Zohra Chiheb
Mary Duggan
Emily Fribbance
Kate Heron
David Howarth
Paul Jones
Holly Lewis  
David McClean
Rob Mitchell 
Satwinder Samra
James Soane 

11 February 2014
28 May 2014
1 October 2014

finance and operations committee

Geoff Alsop (Chair) 
Skip Belton
John Hickey
Charles Perrin
William Smedley
Francesca Weal 

30 January 2014
29 May 2014
25 September 2014
3 December 2014

international committee

Peter Oborn (Chair)
Dagmar Binsted
Angela Brady IPPRIBA
David Falla
James Fischer (corresponding)
John Geeson
Chris Hampson
Alia Javed
Manuel Nogueira
Sumita Sinha
Rob Smith
Pierre Wassenaar
Chris Williamson     
Nela de Zoysa (corresponding) 

28 January 2014
27 May 2014
23 September 2014

membership committee

Anthony Clerici (Chair) 
Gerard Bareham
Elspeth Clements
Alia Javed
Dominic Kramer 
Virginia Newman
Richard Steer
Fergal Walsh

29 January 2014
28 May 2014
30 September 2014

nations and regions committee

Anthony Clerici (VP Membership)
Simon Baker – Yorkshire
Dan Benham – President RSAW
Paola Boffo – London
Matt Brook – North West
Peter Buchan – North East
Jon Greenfield – East
Tim Hancock – South West
Mike Lawless – South East
Gavin Orton – West Mids
Valeria Passetti – East Mids
Mark Shipton – South
Giles Vallis – Wessex

4 February 2014
3 June 2014
1 October 2014

practice and professions committee 

Dale Sinclair (Chair)
Tim Bailey
Caroline Buckingham
Peter Caplehorn
John Cole
Hugh Feilden
Murray Fraser
John Hickey
Phil Holden
Martin Knight 
David Miller
Nigel Ostime
Ruth Reed
Alan Shingler
Andy von Bradsky
Danna Walker  

5 February 2014
4 June 2014
2 October 2014

riba enterprises board 

Clive Carr (Chairman)
Ben Beaumont
Dagmar Binsted
Andy Munro
Irena Peel
Bill Smedley
Peter Udall
Abi Van Hoorebaek
Richard Waterhouse
Richard Watson
Helen Whitfield
Paula Willmore

21 January 2014
29 April 2014
17 July 2014
23 October 2014