Denis Mason Jones Award winners 2012

Denis Mason Jones Award winners 2012

DMJ Award 2012 entries

We received 80 entries for the inaugural Denis Mason Jones Sketching Award from local Architects and students from Huddersfield University, University of Sheffield and Leeds Metropolitan University.

Judges Robert Felix, President of the WYSA, Mike Clarke, Interim RIBA Yorkshire Regional Director and Clifford Stead, Artist and Member of the Leeds Civic Trust were in common agreement that the submissions were of an excellent standard showing energy and enthusiasm. There was a good range of buildings and topics. Buildings were shown in context. There was a range of focus on details.

Judges considered:

  • representation and communication of the subject matter
  • proof of skill
  • evidence of creativity and uniqueness
  • emotion or inherent meaning
  • joy and enjoyment

We are pleased to announce the winners are as follows:

University of Huddersfield
Winner: Radu-Constantin Chirila - Penny Bank Leeds
Commendation: Vlad Georgescu - Roger Stevens Building
Commendation: Alex Malkin - Huddersfield Concert Hall

University of Sheffield
Winner: George Holland - Sketch of the former Bretton Hall College building, Yorkshire Sculpture Park
Commendation: Alyson Dawn - Gentrification
Commendation: Helen Berg - Sheffield Town Hall & Peace Gardens
Commendation: Ben Rea - View From the Viaduct

Leeds Metropolitan University
Winner: Luke Hirst - Hand drawn sketches of Scarborough
Commendation: David Hallam - The Grand, Scarborough
Commendation: Michael Bland - Scarborough Lighthouse - Urban Borderline
Commendation: Michael Powell - Forgotten Victoria, Scarborough

Winner: Stephen Dixon - Trinity from Trevelyan Square
Commendation: Keith Drummond-Brassington - Round the back - Castle Howard
Commendation: David Smith - Café in Meanwood
Commendation: David Millard - Yorkshire Miscellany

Please browse the online gallery to view the winning entries.

To view all entries, please visit the RIBA Yorkshire Facebook page.

Top of page|