UK Nations and Regions

UK Nations and Regions

The RIBA has 11 regions in England, plus the Royal Society of Architects in Wales (RSAW). The RIBA has agreements with the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS) and the Royal Society of Ulster Architects (RSUA).

There are offices located in Wales and the English regions. Each office employs at least two and in the case of the North West, 15 staff.

Each English region also has an elected Regional Council, led by an elected Chair, and a number of local Branches. Membership comprises architects who are RIBA members living or working in the region. The Regional Council has a close working relationship with the regional office but has no legal responsibility for staff. RSAW in Wales also has a Council, which operates in an identical way to the regional councils in England and is led by an elected President.

English regions and the RSAW deliver the strategic purpose of the RIBA, to champion better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and its members. They work with local opinion formers and decision makers and campaign for good design. They also provide a range of membership services. Examples include:

  • organising CPD and other skill-based training
  • providing communication links with local members and support to local branches
  • organising a wide range of events including RIBA Awards
  • providing RIBA Enterprises with a channel for their publications and appointments service
  • linking with schools of architecture and other education establishments
  • developing joint initiatives with other organisations and building local partnerships
  • influencing local policy making

The RIBA has produced a handbook to help members in the RSAW, English regions and their branches make best use of their specialist knowledge and talents through the various council and committee structures that operate across the country.

A copy of this handbook can be downloaded below.

Members in Scotland and Northern Ireland are represented by RIAS and RSUA respectively. These organisations are independent of the RIBA. The RIBA has funding agreements with RIAS and RSUA in return for the provision of a variety of services to RIBA members. 

Top of page