The National Assembly for Wales


Welsh Assembly
The National Assembly for WalesDesigned by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners, The National Assembly for Wales is a prestigious landmark that was awarded for its environmental strategy.


In June 1998, the Secretary of State for Wales announced the launch of an RIBA international competition to design the new National Assembly for Wales. The new building was to become a symbol for Wales throughout the world and a prestigious landmark.

From 55 expressions of interest worldwide, a shortlist of six were invited to prepare concept designs for the new Assembly building. The competition jury, chaired by the Rt. Hon Lord Callaghan of Cardiff, selected the scheme by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners as the winner of the competition. They felt their design ‘symbolised a new form of democracy of which the whole of Wales could be proud’.

The building was officially opened on 1 March 2006 by Her Majesty the Queen accompanied by Prince Phillip, Prince Charles and The Duchess of Cornwall.

The New Assembly reflects the democratic process, reinforcing the importance of the electorate by placing the public above the elected assembly members, with the debating chamber as both the physical and metaphorical centre of the design. It has since been awarded the BREEAM 'excellent' rating for its environmental strategy, which includes boreholes, grey water recycling and extensive use of natural light and ventilation.


RIBA Award 2006

Shortlisted for RIBA Stirling Award 2006

Finalist for Prime Minister's Better Public Building Award 2006

Civic Trust Award 2006

BRE Highest Award for Sustainability 2006

The Structural Steel Design Awards 2006

Shortlisted for RIBA Sustainability Award 2006

Gold Medal in Architecture, National Eisteddfod 2006


Top of page