Le Corbusier Season 

 Events at the Barbican

Design for a tapestry


A series of events complement Le Corbusier – The Art of Architecture at the Barbican. Those staged in collaboration with the RIBA are listed below. For full details of all Le Corbusier Season events at the Barbican, please visit www.barbican.org.uk/lecorbusier.

Thursday Late Talks

The talks programme is presented by Barbican in partnership with the RIBA Trust and generously sponsored by Ryder Architecture. Talks are £5 and are preceded at 18.30 by gallery talks from acclaimed architects as part of the Architects of the 21st Century series.

Autobiographical Interiors and Objects
Arthur Rüegg
Thursday 19 February, 19.30

The Lyricism of Architecture in the Machine Age
Jean-Louis Cohen
Thursday 26 February, 19.00

Architecture and Mathematics
Marcus du Sautoy and Sir Peter Cook
Thursday 5 March, 19.00

Towards a Mediatic Architecture
Beatriz Colomina
Thursday 12 March, 19.30

Le Corbusier at Work
William J.R. Curtis
Thursday 19 March, 19.30

City Planning for the 21st Century
Thursday 26 March, 19.30

Chandigarh: Le Corbusier in the Punjab
Thursday 2 April, 19.30

The Barbican Debate  - Ethics in Architecture: The Corbusian Legacy
Thursday 9 April, 7.30pm

Design for the Interior
Thursday 16 April, 19.30

Le Corbusier and the Philips Pavilion
Marc Trieb
Thursday 23 April, 19.30

Communicating with Le Corbusier
Eva Jiricna
Thursday 30 April, 19.30

Le Corbusier: The Making of Books
Catherine de Smet
Thursday 7 May, 19.30

Critical Modernism
Charles Jencks
Thursday 14 May, 19.30

Impressions of Le Corbusier
Teodoro Gonzalez de Leon
Thursday 21 May, 19.00

Other Events

Vu-topia
Part of the Le Corbusier Film Season
28–29 March, 18.00 and 20.00
Curated by Building Futures, an RIBA initiative.

 

Further highlights at the Barbican include: family activities as part of the Do Something Different Weekend, Sat 7 – Sun 8 March and Le Corbusier and Art Open University Study Day, Sat 21 March.

Barbican

Barbican Art Gallery
Barbican Centre, Silk Street
London EC2Y 8DS
Underground: Barbican/Moorgate

×