The RIBA Awards 2017 are now closed. 
We will be showcasing the winning and shortlisted projects on our Instagram - follow us
International projects can be entered from July 2017. 

For 50 years the RIBA awards and prizes have championed and celebrated the best architecture in the UK and around the world, no matter the form, size or budget. 

Successful projects reflect changes and innovations in architecture, but at their core display a commitment to designing and developing buildings and spaces for the improvement and enhancement of people's lives.


Paulo Mendes da Rocha has been awarded the 2017 Royal Gold Medal. 

The RIBA International Prize 2016 winner is The Universidad de Ingeniería y Tecnología (UTEC) in Lima, Peru by Grafton Architects with Shell Arquitectos. 


The RIBA Stirling Prize 2016 winner is Newport St Gallery by Caruso St John Architects. 

The RIBA Awards 2017 are sponsored and supported by:

Almacantar, Arper, Bloxham Foundation, GeberitHiscox, Marco Goldschmied Foundation, Marley Eternit, Paint & Paper Library, Taylor MaxwellTobermore and our Exclusive Technology Partner Microsoft.

our awards

Leicester Print Workshop Anton Gorlenko 10
View the winners of the RIBA Regional Awards 2016

riba regional awards

A RIBA Regional Award is given to a UK building for its regional importance as a piece of architecture.
Stanbrook Abbey_Tim_Crocker_12
View the winners of the RIBA National Awards 2016

riba National awards

A RIBA National Award is given to any building across the UK recognised as a significant contribution to architecture.
View the winner of the RIBA Stirling Prize 2016

riba stirling prize

The RIBA Stirling Prize is awarded to the best building in the UK.
UTEC - Universidad de Ingenieria y Tecnologia_PressImage_Iwan_Baan_2
View the winner of the inaugural RIBA International Prize

riba international prize

The International Prize is awarded to the most significant and inspirational building in the world.
presidents medals
View the winners of the 2016 RIBA President's Medals

riba president's medals

The RIBA President's Medals are regarded as the most prestigious student awards in architectural education.
Paulo Mendes daRocha
Paulo Mendes da Rocha has been named the 2017 recipient of the Royal Gold Medal

royal gold medal

The Royal Gold Medal is awarded to those who have had a significant influence on the advancement of architecture.
View the winner of the RIBA House of the Year 2016

riba house of the year

The RIBA House of the Year is awarded to the best new house designed by an architect in the UK.
Gloucester Services Paul Miller 9
View the winner of the RIBA Client of the Year 2016

riba client of the year

The RIBA Client of the Year award honours the key role that a good client plays in the creation of fine architecture.
View the winner of the Stephen Lawrence Prize 2016

stephen lawrence prize

The Stephen Lawrence Prize rewards the best projects with a construction budget of less than £1 million.

Celebrating excellence around the world

RIBA awards are regarded by both the public and profession as the most valued architecture awards with an unrivalled approach to judging and promotion of good architecture.

+ RIBA awards and prizes are the most rigorously judged awards for architectural excellence and are based on the judgement of peers as a result of building visits.
+ All award-winning projects will have been visited by at least one expert jury.
+ All RIBA awards are judged by award-winning architects and relevant lay assessors.
+ Award winners will have PR support from the RIBA and the chance to be featured in online, print and filmed content by our prestigious media partners.
+ Award-winning projects are featured on architecture.com which has a growing annual visit rate of over 2.5 million globally.
+ RIBA awards are highlighted and amplified on all of our social media channels with a global reach of over 200,000 followers.
+ Award winners will receive both hard-copy and digital RIBA Awards marketing assets.



"Architecture has become so international now, so it followed that the RIBA Prize was the one to win. We were lucky enough to win it for our Gardens by the Bay project in Singapore and for the Guangzhou IFC in China. I believe that both of these have strengthened our international standing in the architectural world."

Chris Wilkinson OBE, Wilkinson Eyre, RIBA Award winner


"Peer recognition for winning the award is something we pride ourselves on. As architects, an RIBA award is something we see as the top accolade, particularly as the standard of projects is always so high. Clients also pick up on this as they see greater recognition and interest in the buildings they have commissioned with increased publicity, income and footfall. For these reasons, an RIBA Award is always celebrated by both the architect and the client."

Graeme Dodd, Napper Architects | RIBA Award winner


"The RIBA as an institution is unequalled in terms of name recognition and attracts the best of our profession the world over. Winning a RIBA Award for our Danish Maritime Museum exposed the merits and qualities of our project to that same audience."

Bjarke Ingels, Bjarke Ingels Group | RIBA Award winner


"RIBA awards are widely recognised by both peers and clients due to their prestige. Winning did make us feel that we had landed on the architecture scene as a practice. Straight after the awards the amount of hits we had on our webpage was phenomenal. We would say that we have had increased interest, new jobs and built new relationships from winning the awards."

Mawson Kerr | RIBA Award winner


Previous RIBA Award Winners

Derry Avenue Killian O'Sullivan 8

derry avenue

RIBA Regional Award 2016

The Investcorp Building Luke Hayes 5

investcorp building

RIBA National Award 2016
Burntwood_01_Rob Parrish

Burntwood School

RIBA Stirling Prize 2015
1st row here
Flint House_jamesmorris


RIBA House of the Year 2015

National Theatre

RIBA Client of the Year 2015

The Fishing Hut

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2015
2nd row here