The Royal Gold Medal was established by the Royal Institute of British Architects in 1848 and is still awarded and celebrated today. It was conceived as a result of a conversation between the then President of the Institute of British Architects, Earl de Grey, and Prince Albert.

Here we take a look at some of the winners over the years since the award began.

RGM WINNERS - Top Four Results

Architect Giles Gilbert Scott

Giles Gilbert Scott

The architect behind Battersea Power Station and the red K2 GPO telephone box, two iconic British structures

Architect Edwin Landseer Lutyens

Edwin Landseer Lutyens

Edwin Lutyens studied at the Royal College of London before working in both London, Liverpool and New Delhi. He is known for championing architecture as a superior art form.

Architect Charles Correa

Charles Correa

Creator of modern architecture in post-Independence India, Correa won the Royal Gold Medal in 1984 and has worked for over four decades

Architect Norman Foster

Norman Foster

Norman Foster has been described as one of the truly influential figures of his generation. His most famous buildings include the Reichstag, Berlin and the Hearst Tower, New York.

RGM WINNERS - Other Results


Richard Rogers

Richard Rogers, the architect behind Terminal 5 at Heathrow and the Pompidou Centre in Paris, has "an unshakeable belief in the art of the possible".


Frank Lloyd Wright

Wright is an American architect famous for using pre-cast concrete blocks.


Alvar Aalto

Finnish architect Alvar Aalto was awarded the Royal Gold Medal in 1957 for 'outstanding ability to bring a human quality and gentleness to modern arch…


Herbert Baker

Producing buildings in South Africa, India and London, Baker has been described as 'the architect of the Empire'.


Denys Lasdun

Architect of the National Theatre, Lasdun was winner of the Royal Gold Medal in 1977


Charles Barry

In 1850, Sir Charles Barry was awarded the prestigious Royal Gold Medal for, among things, his masterpiece - rebuilding the Houses of Parliament.


Herman Hertzberger

The internationally acclaimed Dutch architect Herman Hertzberger was the recipient of the 2012 Royal Gold Medal.


George Gilbert Scott

Sir George Gilbert Scott, a 19th Century Gothic architect, won the prestigious Royal Gold Medal in 1859


Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Best known for Seagram Building in New York and the New National Gallery in Berlin, Mies was awarded the Royal Gold Medal in 1981


Alfred Waterhouse

Alfred Waterhouse won the prestigious Royal Gold Medal award in 1878. He is architect to the Natural History Museum and University College Hospital, L…


George Edmund Street

Famous for designing the Royal Courts of Justice in London, George Edmund Street won the Royal Gold Medal in 1874


Berthold Lubetkin

Berthold Lubetkin was an architect in the mid 20th century with a passion for social reform, influencing London's social housing in the 50s and 60s


Charles Robert Cockerell

Cockerell was the first ever winner of this prestigious Royal Gold Medal award in 1848. His best known buildings include the Bank of England.


Aston Webb

Webb has been named as 'the most distinguished architect of his generation'. He won the prestigious Royal Gold Medal in 1905.


Herzog & de Meuron

Winners of the 2007 Royal Gold Medal and perhaps best known for their conversion of the giant Bankside Power Station in London to the new home of Tate…


I.M. Pei

A Chinese American architect whose career has been an extraordinary gift to architecture.


Joseph Rykwert

A world-leading authority on the history of art and architecture whose groundbreaking ideas and work have had a major impact on the thinking of archit…


Le Corbusier

A world famous Swiss architect, Le Corbusier won the prestigious Royal Gold Medal in 1953 and developed the 'free plan' concept.


Renzo Piano

Piano, originally from Italy, is most famous for being the architect behind the Shard and the Pompidou Centre. He was winner of the Royal Gold Medal i…