RGM Medallists



Portrait bust of Sir Edwin Lutyens made from a model of a chujja


Over the 160 years of the Royal Gold Medal, 154 individuals and six practices have won the medal. We've selected the very best in each decade below, with quotes from the medallists' citations.


We've also placed the Royal Gold Medal in context by providing background information on some of the events of the decade.


      1840s        1900s         1960s

      1850s        1910s         1970s

      1860s        1920s         1980s

      1870s        1930s         1990s

      1880s        1940s         2000s

      1890s        1950s         2010s