RIBA Annie Spink Award

The RIBA presents the Annie Spink Award biennially in recognition of an outstanding contribution to architectural education.

Annie Spink Trophy

The RIBA presents the Annie Spink Award for Excellence in Architectural Education biennially to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the ‘advancement of architectural education’ in a school of architecture anywhere in the world that offers courses validated by the RIBA.

The £10,000 award is financed by the Annie Spink Trust Fund, which was established in 1974 by architect Herbert Spink FRIBA. He bequeathed the trust to the RIBA as a lasting memorial to his wife Annie, who died in 1938, and conceived it as an honour for the “advancement of architectural education”.

Past winners of the RIBA Annie Spink Award

  • 2014: Professor Florian Beigel
  • 2012: Professor Nigel Coates
  • 2010: Professor Dean Hawkes
  • 2008: Joint award to Professor Andrew MacMillan and Professor Isi Metzstein
  • 2006: Professor Dalibor Vesely
  • 2004: Shared award to Peter Salter and Wolf Prix 
  • 2002: Joint award to Professor Peter Cook and Professor David Greene 
  • 2000: Professor Elia Zenghelis

Eligibility Criteria

  • The nominee(s) should have made a substantial contribution to architectural education over a number of years on a course validated by the RIBA.
  • The nominee(s) do not need to be RIBA members, however, preference will be given to nominees who are RIBA members.
  • The award can be made to an individual teacher or to a group of individuals.
  • The nominee must have been involved with the process of teaching and learning.
  • The nominee(s) may have been involved in the development of architectural education
  • Nominations can be made by a third party or can be made directly by the individual/group nominee.
  • Employees of the RIBA, or close family, are not eligible for nomination.
  • The RIBA Vice President Education, Education Award Advisors and current Annie Spink judges are not eligible for nomination.

How to apply

Nominees must provide the following information:

  • Curriculum Vitae including full details of RIBA validated courses where the nominee(s) have taught
  • Statement of Eligibility which describes how the nominee(s) meet the nomination criteria. (One side of A4 only)
  • up to 6 letters of citation from employers, work colleagues, distinguished architects or academics or other bodies relevant to the application
  • between 4 -10 letters of support from past students
  • any supporting information that the nominee considers relevant to the application.

The deadline for nominations for the 2016 Annie Spink Award is Thursday 15 September.

For more information, please contact:
John-Paul Nunes
Tel: +44 (0)20 7307 3604
Email: john-paul.nunes@riba.org