RIBA Aedas Stephen Williams Scholarship call for entries

The prestigious Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Aedas Stephen Williams Scholarship 2012/13 is now open to applications from postgraduate students enrolled at a UK or International RIBA-accredited school of architecture. The scholarship is named after Stephen James Williams a past Director of Aedas, and will offer one student throughout the academic year mentoring by an Aedas member of staff and a £5,000 grant towards their studies.

David Simister, Creative Director of Aedas said:

'Stephen was a strong advocate for good design and to the thoughtful consideration of the built environment. In offering the scholarship all of us here at Aedas are delighted to be able to continue Stephen's legacy in a commitment to promoting education and furthering knowledge. We are thrilled that over its first three years the scholarship has witnessed an incredible level of talent and professionalism from the students who applied. We are eagerly awaiting this year's applicants.'

David Gloster, Director of Education at RIBA said:

'We are delighted that Aedas continues to support the work of the RIBA in developing access to architecture education for talented and committed students. At a time when students are experiencing unprecedented financial hardship, it is encouraging to know there are passionate partners like Aedas who are genuinely interested in nurturing the future of the profession though mentoring and financial assistance. Their contribution is much appreciated in supporting and extending the RIBA's programme of education trust funds and awards.'

Since 2008 Aedas have committed over £25,000 towards the RIBA's charitable education trust funds and awards.

The judging committee will include Brian Johnson, European Chairman of Aedas and Angela Brady, President of the RIBA.


Notes to editors

  • Press enquiries: Howard Crosskey +44 (0)20 7307 3761
  • The deadline for application is 9am on Tuesday 3 April 2012. Further details and the application from can be found on www.architecture.com/aedasscholarship.
  • Applicants must:
    • have graduated from a Part 1 programme validated by the RIBA in the UK
      And at the time of application, students must either:
    • be enrolled in an RIBA-validated Part 2 professional qualification, and will be starting the final year in September 2012 OR
    • be enrolled, or have been granted a placement offer, on a Masters course related to architecture (non-RIBA Part 2) in a university department that also offers courses validated by the RIBA.
  • Application enquiries: Joanna Scott +44 (0)20 7307 3678 joanna.scott@riba.org.
  • During 2012/13 and 2013/14, the scholarship will support one talented student in each year to pursue postgraduate architectural education in the UK or abroad with a scholarship of £5,000. In addition, the recipient of the scholarship will be offered the possibility to be mentored by a senior member of Aedas throughout the academic year.
  • The RIBA Aedas Stephen Williams Scholarship has been funded by Aedas since 2009, and is named in memory of Stephen James Williams, a past Director of Aedas. Since then, it has been awarded to Laura Collins (University of Sheffield, 2009/10), Henry Fisher (University of Bath 2010/11), and Joseph Deane (Royal College of Art 2011/12).
  • For further queries about how you could support students through the RIBA's scholarships and bursaries programme, either as an individual or a practice contact Lizzie Keeling, RIBA Development Manager lizzie.keeling@riba.org
  • Follow the RIBA https://twitter.com/RIBA and keep up to date with all RIBA Education activities by following the dedicated Twitter feed http://twitter.com/ribaeducation