RIBA Conservation Register receives endorsement by Historic Scotland

The Royal Institute for British Architects (RIBA) is pleased to announce that Historic Scotland has endorsed the RIBA Conservation Register and will recognise Specialist Conservation Architects (SCA) on the register for grant purposes with immediate effect. The Register, also endorsed by English Heritage, enables anyone looking to commission work on heritage buildings to find architects with the specific skills and experience they require, encompassing all aspects of important historic building conservation, repair and maintenance.

Chair of the RIBA Conservation Register Steering Group, Dawson Stelfox said:

'Historic Scotland’s endorsement is further confirmation of the high standards and robust assessment procedures of the RIBA's Conservation Register. We are looking forward to working with Historic Scotland and the other statutory agencies to further develop the accreditation of conservation architects, and by this means to protect, conserve and enhance the country's built heritage.'

RIBA Conservation Courses are taking place across England and Wales over the coming months for those interested in developing their practical knowledge and skills in building conservation. This is the first step on the ladder towards developing a specialism in conservation.

Architects interested in joining the RIBA Conservation Register are urged to apply as soon as possible for the current round of registration which closes on the 31 March. Membership is open to all Architect Registration Board registered architects.


Notes to editors

  • For press enquires contact Howard Crosskey in the RIBA press office   howard.crosskey@riba.org 020 73073761.
  • The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members. Visit www.architecture.com and follow us on Twitter for regular updates all things architecture www.twitter.com/RIBA.
  • The RIBA Conservation Register has three levels of membership, which also provide an incremental process of accreditation for those who are in the early phases of establishing their careers in building conservation. These levels are:
    • Specialist Conservation Architect (SCA)
    • Conservation Architect (CA)
    • Conservation Registrant (CR).
  • To apply for the current round or for further details on applications and the entry requirements for SCA and CA levels please visit the Conservation Register website.  
  • The Register is endorsed by Historic Scotland and English Heritage and is based on the international guidelines on conservation set by the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS). To use the register please visit the consumer section of the Conservation Register website.  
  • RIBA Conservation Courses please are taking place at the following locations:
    • Newcastle upon Tyne: 4, 5, 25, 26 April
    • Cardiff: 12, 19 April and 3, 17 May
    • London: 23, 24, 25, 26 October
    • Bath: 13, 14, 20, 12 November.

To book your place please visit the Conservation Register website.