RIBA Aedas Stephen Williams Scholarship 2013

Winning student awarded £5,000 towards postgraduate studies and exclusive mentoring from Aedas

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is inviting students to apply for the prestigious RIBA Aedas Stephen Williams Scholarship. The unique Scholarship provides £5,000 to support one student for a period of postgraduate studies lasting up to 12 months in the UK or abroad and one year’s mentoring from an established and experienced Aedas team member.

The Scholarship was established in 2008 thanks to the generous support of Aedas Architects and is offered in memory of Stephen Williams, a past Director of Aedas. The scholarship serves as an appreciation of his tireless devotion to the profession. Stephen was a strong advocate for good design and thoughtful consideration of the built environment. Always committed to promoting education and further knowledge, the award serves to continue his legacy.

Since 2008, the scholarship has been awarded to:

  • Laura Collins (University of Sheffield, 2009/10)
  • Henry Fisher (University of Bath 2010/11)
  • Joseph Deane (Royal College of Art 2011/12)
  • Kerry Watton (Mackintosh School of Architecture, Glasgow School of Art, 2012/13).

RIBA President Angela Brady said: 'I am delighted to be launching this scholarship in conjunction with Aedas for the fifth consecutive year.

'The quality of our previous winners and the commitment of Aedas have helped make this Scholarship one of the most sought after in postgraduate architecture education. I am expecting the work produced by the 2013 recipient to be of an exceptional standard and look forward to reviewing the applications.'

David Simister, Creative Director at Aedas Architects states: 'Aedas’ continued involvement with the scholarship reflects our commitment to training and development across the industry. As an established practice in the industry we have a responsibility for nurturing budding talent and ensuring that the best candidates are attracted to the profession and we are pleased to offer the scholarship for a fifth consecutive year.'

To apply students should visit www.architecture.com/aedasscholarship for more information. The deadline for applications is 9am on Monday 10 June 2013.



Notes to editors

  • The deadline for applications is 9am on Monday 10 June 2013
  • Students should visit www.architecture.com/aedasscholarship in the first instance for more information, or contact RIBA Education Projects Coordinator Hayley Russell hayley.russell@riba.org +44 (0)20 7307 3678
  • The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members www.architecture.com  - follow us on Twitter for regular RIBA updates www.twitter.com/RIBA
  • Applicants must have graduated from a Part 1 programme validated by the RIBA in the UK. And at the time of application, students must either:

be enrolled in an RIBA-validated Part 2 professional qualification, and will be startingthe final year in September 2012 OR be enrolled, or have been granted a placement offer, on a Masters course related to architecture (non-RIBA Part 2) in a university department that also offers courses validated by the RIBA.