RIBA Stirling Prize 2013 - Shortlist and winner dates


Shortlist announced Thursday 18 July. Six buildings will be shortlisted

Winner announced Thursday 26 September at an evening event at Central St Martins in London

This year the prestigious RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building comes of age and celebrates its 18th year.

The UK’s most important architecture award is not merely a beauty pageant; the judges look for original, imaginative and well executed designs, which excellently meet the needs of their users.

The shortlisted and winning buildings reveal the pinnacle of current architectural talent – buildings that on all fronts and in every detail inspire those who use and meet them.

From the rule-breaking Evelyn Grace school in London by Zaha Hadid to a cutting edge sustainable housing development near Cambridge, past RIBA Stirling Prize winners illustrate the social and economic trends that shape our buildings and environment and show why UK design talent is famed around the world.

The 2013 RIBA Stirling Prize judges are:

Sheila O’Donnell - architect, O’Donnell + Tuomey

Paul Williams - architect, Stanton Williams and winner of the 2012 RIBA Stirling Prize

Stephen Hodder – architect and RIBA President Elect (commencing 01/09/13)

Dame Vivien Duffield – philanthropist and Chair of the Clore Duffield Foundation

Tom Dykchoff – journalist and broadcaster


Notes to editors

For further information contact Beatrice Cooke in the RIBA Press Office; beatrice.cooke@riba.org, 020 7307 3813.

Tickets to the RIBA Stirling Prize evening event on Thursday 26 September will go on sale in June . To register your interest email events@riba.org

The RIBA Stirling Prize is for the best building in the UK by RIBA chartered architects and International Fellows, or in the rest of the EU by an RIBA chartered architect. The RIBA Stirling Prize is chosen from a shortlist drawn up by the RIBA Awards Group following visits to eligible schemes. The shortlisted buildings are judged on a range of criteria including design vision, innovation and originality, capacity to stimulate engage and delight occupants and visitors, accessibility and sustainability, how fit the building is for its purpose and the level of client satisfaction. The RIBA Stirling Prize jury determines the winner on the day of the prize’s presentation and its votes remain confidential. Full details about the prize can be found at http://ribastirlingprize.architecture.com

This is the 18th year the RIBA Stirling Prize has been presented. Previous winners of the RIBA Stirling Prize include: Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge by Stanton Williams (2012), Evelyn Grace Academy, London (2011) and MAXXI Museum, Rome (2010) both by Zaha Hadid Architects; Maggie’s Centre at Charing Cross Hospital, London by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners (2009); Accordia housing development by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios/Alison Brooks Architects/Maccreanor Lavington (2008); The Museum of Modern Literature, Marbach am Neckar, Germany by David Chipperfield Architects (2007).

The Royal Institute of British Architects champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members. www.architecture.com