IMPORTANT Read the RIBA's latest COVID-19 advice and information | Website terms of use and cookie statement

Expert Advisory Groups

Members of the RIBA Expert Advisory Groups use their expertise to inform RIBA responses to consultations, proactive campaigns as well as products and guidance to support the profession.

Group remits range from representing a member constituency (eg Small Practice Group) to providing technical expertise (eg Planning Group) and advising the RIBA on client relationships (eg Client Liaison Group).

Members meet three times per year, and memberships range from two to six years.

Vacancies are advertised in the Member Update. If you would like to know more about any of the groups, please contact

Current members are listed below.

Architects for Change

Femi Oresanya, HOK (Interim Chair)
Srimathi Aiyer, Mace Group Ltd
Jude Barber, Collective Architecture
Darren Bray, Studio B.a.d Architects
Ibrahim Buhari, Burrell Foley Fischer LLP
Katy Ghahremani, Director, Make Architects
Pedro Gil, Studio Gil
Tayseer Kardash
Cristina Lanz Azcarate, atelier EURA
Virginia Newman, KSR Architects LLP, RIBA ED&I Ambassador
Timothy Onyenobi, AA Architecture
Jane Simpson, Jane Simpson Access Consultant
Matt Watts, Director, Reed Watts Architects

Client Advisers Steering Group

Sarah Williams, S Williams Architects Ltd (Chair)
Ann Griffin, Architects Collaborative (Vice-Chair)
Sui-Te Wu, Lean BIM Strategies (Vice-Chair)
Nigel Maynard, Mace Group Ltd
Juliet Bidgood, Architecture + Urban Design
Barry Coupe, Barry Coupe Architects
Meryl Townley, van Heyningen and Haward Architects
Aaron Taylor, Stantec
Paul Cayford, Cayford Design
Dominic Cullinan, SCABAL (Studio Cullinan And Buck Architects Ltd)
Haydn Davies, Davies Associates Consultants

Client Liaison Group

The RIBA Client Liaison Group was set up to understand clients’ experience of architects and the value they bring to the project team. For further information contact

Nigel Ostime, Hawkins Brown (Chair)
Claire Bennie, Municipal
Martyn Evans, U+I
Chris Langdon, Engie
Caspar Rodgers, Alma-nac Architects
Matthew Thompson
Linda Stevens, RIBA

Conservation Group

Fiona Raley, Fiona Raley Architecture (Chair)
Helen Axworthy, rhp
Charles Bain Smith, National Trust
Paul Chatham, Peregrine Bryant Architecture
Ian Dieffenthaller, City and Country
Jenny Gillat, Mosedale Gillatt Architects
Anna Joynt, Allies and Morrison
Sarah Khan, Roger Mears Architects
Ingval Maxwell OBE, Conservation Consultant
Richard Morrice, Historic England
Sarah Morrison, Feilden+Mawson
Aylin Orbasli, Oxford Brookes University
Janie Price, Kennedy O'Callaghan Architects
David Watkins, DHW Architects

Conservation Register Steering Group

Lisa McFarlane, Seven Architecture (Co-Chair)
Alan Chandler, Arts Centres Techniques (Co-Chair)
Sarah Baldwin, Hawkes Edwards
Ashley Davies, Ashley DAVIES Architects Limited
James Gibson
Jeremy Lander, Freeland Rees Roberts Architects
Ingval Maxwell, Edinburgh Group
Roger Perrot, C60 Director

CPD Steering Group

John Hickey, DV Architecture and Manchester School of Architecture (Chair)
Roger Burton, nvirohaus
Paul Bussey, AHMM
Colin Haylock, Haylock Planning and Design
Peter Kent, PKA Architects
Eleni Makri, Conservation pd
Anne Markey, The CASS Faculty of Art, Architecture and Design and Phelan Architects
Robert Prewett, Prewett Bizley Architects
Lisa Raynes, Raynes Architecture
Jane Simpson, Jane Simpson Access Consultant

Housing Group

Dhruv Sookhoo, Newcastle University (Chair)
Tim Bell, Bell Phillips Architects
Kyle Buchanan, Archio
Anthony Hudson, Hudson Architects
Constanze Leibrock, Proctor and Matthews Architects
Elizabeth Motley, Integreat Plus
Phil Obayda, Skidmore Owings & Merrill
Laurence Osborn, GRID
Kaye Stout, Pollard Thomas Edwards
Jane Tillotson, Stephen George & Partners

Large Practice Group

Constance Rideout, Arup (Interim Chair)
Valerie Evans, Atkins
Richard Fairhead, 3DReid
Helen Logan, Allies & Morrison
Sonal Rathod, PLP Architecture
Neil Sterling, tp Bennett
Helen Taylor, Scott Brownrigg
Andrew Thomas, Grimshaw
Michael Walter, AHR Architects
Benedict Zucchi, BDP

Planning Group

Philip Waddy, West Waddy ADP (Chair)
Gerry Cassidy, bptw partnership
Stephen Gleave, AECOM
Jennifer Gutteridge, London Legacy Development Corporation
Rachel Hearn, London Borough of Havering
Tom Holbrook, 5th Studio
Roland Karthaus, Matter Architecture
Paul O'Neill, Bryden Wood
Riette Oosthuizen, HTA
Mark Percival, architecture:m
Bob Pritchard, Eversheds
Finn Williams, GLA
Richard Wooldridge, Harrison Pitt Architects

Regulation & Standards Group

Dieter Bently-Gockmann, EPR Architects (Chair)
Stuart Barlow, SPB Sustainability
Paul Bussey, AHMM
Peter Caplehorn, Chair, Construction Products Association
Matt Cousins, Sense Studio
Andy Jobling, Levitt Bernstein
Anil Palmer, CPMG Architects
David Petherick
George Poppe, Sheppard Robson
Nigel Rayner, Scott Brownrigg
Jane Simpson, Jane Simpson Access
Mark Taylor, Allies and Morrison
Hsi-yun Sung Thomas

Small Practice Group

Barbara Kaucky, Erect Architecture (Chair)
Cassion Castle, Cassion Castle
Jake Edgley, Edgley Design Ltd
Jennifer Forakis, Studio Hoop
Tomas Millar, Millar Howard Workshop
Nick Marchini, Marchini Curran Associates
Will Mawson, Mawson Kerr
Shahriar Nasser, Belsize Architects
Manuel Nogueira, And Architects
Marco Ortiz, Emergent Design Studios
Anna Parker, Intervention Architecture
Melissa Robinson, MW Architects
Su Stringfellow, Harrison Stringfellow Architects
Annabelle Tugby, Annabelle Tugby Architects

Sustainable Futures Group

Gary Clark, HOK (Chair)
Ann Marie Aguilar, International WELL Building Institute
Ashley Bateson, Hoare Lea
Ralph Carpenter, Modece Architects
Peter Fisher, Bennetts Associates
Mina Hasman, Skidmore Owings & Merrill
Victoria Herring, Grosvenor
Jess Hrivnak, 3Adapt
Nitesh Magdani, Royal BAM Group
Patrick Osborne, RH Partnership
Craig Robertson, AHMM
Will South, Etude
Anna Surgenor, UK Green Building Council
Elaine Toogood, The Concrete Centre
Alex Whitcroft, Bere Architects

keyboard_arrow_up To top