Use of cookies
We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies
Advisory Groups

​RIBA Expert Advisory Groups

Members of the RIBA Expert Advisory Groups use their expertise to inform RIBA responses to consultations, proactive campaigns as well as products and guidance to support the profession.

Group remits range from representing a member constituency (e.g. Small Practice Group) to providing technical expertise (e.g. Planning Group) and advising the RIBA on client relationships (e.g. Client Liaison Group).

Members meet three times per year and membership ranges from 2 to 6 years.

Vacancies are advertised in the Member Update and if you would like to know more about any of the groups, please contact

Current members are listed below.

Architects for Change

Elsie Owusu, Director, Elsie Owusu Architects (Chair)
Srimathi Aiyer, Architectural Assistant & BIM Coordinator, Mace Group Ltd
Jude Barber, Collective Architecture
Dieter Bentley-Gockmann, EPR Architects
Darren Bray, PAD Studios
Ibrahim Buhari, Burrell Foley Fischer LLP
Katy Ghahremani, Director, Make Architects
Pedro Gil, Studio Gil
Tayseer Kardash
Cristina Lanz Azcarate, atelier EURA
Virginia Newman, KSR Architects LLP, RIBA ED&I Ambassador
Timothy Onyenobi, AA Architecture
Femi Oresanya, Architecture, HOK
Jane Simpson, Jane Simpson Access Consultant
Matt Watts, Director, Reed Watts Architects

Client Advisers Steering Group

Juliet Bidgood, Architecture + Urban Design (co-Chair)
Nigel Wright, co-chair, Wright-Class Solutions Limited (co-Chair)
Ruth Butler, Ruth Butler Architects
James Chapman, R.James Chapman Architect
Barry Coupe, Barry Coupe Architects
Joanna Eley, Alexi Marmot Associates
Hans Haenlein, Hans Haenlein Architects
Meryl Townley, van Heyningen and Haward Architects

Client Liaison Group

The RIBA Client Liaison Group was set up to understand clients’ experience of architects and the value they bring to the project team. For further information contact

Nigel Ostime of Hawkins \ Brown (Chair)
Ben Derbyshire, HTA
Martyn Evans, Uncommon Ltd
Richard Hutchinson, LOM Architecture and Design
Caspar Rodgers, Alma-nac Architects
Dale Sinclair, Aecom
Linda Stevens, RIBA

Conservation Group

Fiona Raley, Studio Sam Causer (Chair)
Helen Axworthy, rhp
Charles Bain Smith, National Trust
Paul Chatham, Peregrine Bryant Architecture
Sara Crofts, HLF
Ian Dieffenthaller, City and Country
Jenny Gillat, Mosedale Gillatt Architects
Anna Joynt, Allies and Morrison
Sarah Khan, Roger Mears Architects
Ingval Maxwell OBE, Conservation Consultant
Richard Morrice, Historic England
Sarah Morrison, Feilden+Mawson
Aylin Orbasli, Oxford Brookes University
Janie Price, Kennedy O'Callaghan Architects

Conservation Register Steering Group

Jane Jones-Warner, Jane Jones-Warner Associates (Chair)
Sarah Baldwin, Hawkes Edwards
Alan Chandler, Arts Centres Techniques
Ashley Davies, Ashley DAVIES Architects Limited
James Gibson
Ingval Maxwell, Edinburgh Group
Lisa McFarlane, Seven Architecture
Roger Perrot, C60 Director

CPD Steering Group

John Hickey, DV Architecture and Manchester School of Architecture (Chair)
Roger Burton, nvirohaus
Paul Bussey, AHMM
Colin Haylock, Haylock Planning and Design
Peter Kent, PKA Architects
Eleni Makri, Conservation pd
Anne Markey, The CASS Faculty of Art, Architecture and Design and Phelan Architects
Robert Prewett, Prewett Bizley Architects
Lisa Raynes, Raynes Architecture
Jane Simpson, Jane Simpson Access Consultant

Housing Group

Julia Park, Levitt Bernstein (Chair)
Simon Bayliss, HTA
Tim Bell, Bell Phillips Architects
Tom Goodall, Argent
Anthony Hudson, Hudson Architects
Constanze Leibrock, Proctor and Matthews Architects
Elizabeth Motley, Integreat Plus
Laurence Osborn, GRID
Dhruv Sookhoo, Newcastle University
Kaye Stout, Pollard Thomas Edwards
Henning Stummel, Henning Stummel Architects
Jane Tillotson, Stephen George & Partners
Silvia Ullmayer, Ullmayer Sylvester

Large Practice Group

Peter Jackson, SOM (Chair)
Adam Blacker, Benoy
Russell Brown, Hawkins Brown Architects
Valerie Evans, Atkins
Richard Fairhead, 3DReid
Helen Logan, Allies & Morrison
Sonal Rathod, PLP Architecture
Constance Rideout, Arup
Kiran Sharma, NOOR
Neil Sterling, tp Bennett
Helen Taylor, Scott Brownrigg
Andrew Thomas, Grimshaw
Michael Walter, AHR Architects
Benedict Zucchi, BDP

Planning Group

Phillip Waddy, West Waddy ADP (Chair)
Harry Burchill, RTPI
Colin Haylock, Haylock Planning and Design
Ian Hunter, Hunter Architects & Planner
Mark Percival, architecture:m
Hugh Petter, Adam Architecture
Bob Pritchard, Eversheds
Finn Williams, GLA
Sue Illman, Illman Young Landscape Design
Tom Holbrook, 5th Studio
Riette Oosthuizen, HTA
Jennifer Gutteridge, London Borough of Lambeth
Roland Karthaus, Matter Architecture
Gerry Cassidy, bptw partnership
Richard Wooldridge, Harrison Pitt Architects
Stephen Gleave, Gleave 23

Regulation & Standards Group

Peter Caplehorn, Construction Products Association (Chair)
Stuart Barlow, SPB Sustainability Ltd
Dieter Bently-Gockmann, EPR Architects Limited
Paul Bussey, AHMM
Andy Jobling, Levitt Bernstein
Bob Keenan, Sheppard Robson
Asif Malik
David Petherick
Jane Simpson, Jane Simpson Access
Mark Taylor, Allies and Morrison
Hsi-yun Sung Thomas, Benoy

Research & Innovation Group

Flora Samuel, University of Reading (Chair)
Nathan Baker, ICE
Simon Bradbury, University of Plymouth
John Connaughton, University of Reading
Xavier De Kestelier, HASSELL
Clare Eriksson, RICS
David Green, Perkins Will
Derek Hales, New Centre for Research & Practice
Alan Jones, Queens University Belfast
Peter Oborn, VP International
Paola Sassi, Oxford Brookes
Neal Shasore, University of Westminster
Koen Steemers, University of Cambridge
Morag Tait, AHMM
Jennifer Whyte, Imperial

Small Practice Group

Barbara Kaucky, Erect Architecture (Chair)
Cassion Castle, Cassion Castle
Rachael Davidson, HÜT
Jake Edgley, Edgley Design Ltd
Jennifer Forakis, Studio Hoop
Tomas Millar, Millar Howard Workshop
Nick Marchini, Marchini Curran Associates
Will Mawson, Mawson Kerr
Shahriar Nasser, Belsize Architects
Manuel Nogueira, And Architects
Marco Ortiz, Emergent Design Studios
Anna Parker, Intervention Architecture
Melissa Robinson, MW Architects
Su Stringfellow, Harrison Stringfellow Architects
Annabelle Tugby, Annabelle Tugby Architects

Sustainable Futures Group

Simon Sturgis, Sturgis Carbon Profiling (Chair)
Ann Marie Aguilar, International WELL Building Institute
Ashley Bateson, Hoare Lea
Ralph Carpenter, Modece Architects
Gary Clark, Wilkinson Eyre
Peter Fisher, Bennetts Associates
Victoria Herring, Grosvenor
Nitesh Magdani, Royal BAM Group
Elena Marco, UWE
Robert Prewett, Prewett Bizley
Craig Robertson, AHMM
Elaine Toogood, The Concrete Centre
Alex Whitcroft, Bere Architects

keyboard_arrow_up To top