IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

​​RIBA Annie Spink Award

RIBA is now inviting nominations for the 2024 RIBA Annie Spink Award for Excellence in Architectural Education.

This award has been presented since 2000 to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to architectural education in a higher education institution offering courses validated by the RIBA anywhere in the world.

The award (with a prize money of £10,000) is made possible by the Annie Spink Memorial Trust, bequeathed to RIBA for the "advancement of architectural education" by the estate of architect Herbert Spink FRIBA (1877-1967) as a lasting memorial to his wife Annie (1868-1938).

Eligibility criteria

To be eligible for consideration by the judging panel of the RIBA Annie Spink Award, nominee(s):

  • must have made a substantial contribution to architectural education over a significant period of time on (a) course(s) validated by RIBA anywhere in the world
  • have demonstrable evidence of having furthered the processes of teaching and learning in the context of higher education.

Nominees do not need to be RIBA Members; however, in case of two equally suitable final candidates, preference will be given to the one who is a RIBA Member.

The current RIBA President, RIBA staff, and members of RIBA Council, RIBA Board, RIBA Education and Learning Committee, RIBA Education Development Group, RIBA Research Development Group, and RIBA Annie Spink judging panel are not eligible for nomination.


Nominations can be made by the nominees themselves or by nominators on their behalf.

All nominations must be issued in digital format via email to John-Paul Nunes (RIBA Head of Education Projects and officer of the award), and must include:

  • Nomination Form, completed by the nominator(s), including a citation attesting to the nominee’s eligibility for the award, and describing their contribution to architectural education in (a) course(s) validated by the RIBA
  • Between six and ten letters of support from current or past academic employers and work colleagues (or other relevant professionals) attesting to the merit of the nominee to win the award
  • Between six and ten letters of support from past students attesting to the merit of the nominee to win the award
  • Any other supporting documents the nominator considers relevant for the nomination, such as: detailed curriculum vitae of the nominee, further letters of support, films or transcripts of lectures and debates, published articles and books (as digital files or as URL links where they can be accessed), etc.

The deadline for nominations for the 2024 RIBA Annie Spink Award is 3pm on Monday 16 September 2024.

For more information about this award, please contact John-Paul Nunes.

Winners of the Annie Spink Award

2022: Kester Rattenbury

2020: Lesley Lokko

2018: Murray Fraser

2016: Christine Hawley

2014: Florian Beigel

2012: Nigel Coates

2010: Dean Hawkes

2008: Andrew MacMillan and Isi Metzstein (joint award)

2006: Dalibor Vesely

2004: Peter Salter and Wolf Prix (shared award)

2002: Peter Cook and David Greene (joint award)

2000: Elia Zenghelis

keyboard_arrow_up To top