IMPORTANT Read the RIBA's latest COVID-19 advice and information | Website terms of use and cookie statement

Royal Gold Medal

Given in recognition of a lifetime’s work, the Royal Gold Medal is approved personally by Her Majesty The Queen and is given to a person or group of people who have had a significant influence either directly or indirectly on the advancement of architecture.

Awarded since 1848, past Royal Gold Medallists include Sir David Adjaye OBE (2021), Grafton Architects (2020), Sir Nicholas Grimshaw (2019), Neave Brown (2018), Dame Zaha Hadid (2016), Frank Gehry (2000), Sir Norman Foster (1983), Frank Lloyd Wright (1941) and Sir George Gilbert Scott (1859).

"It's incredibly humbling and a great honour to have my peers recognise the work I have developed with my team and its contribution to the field over the past 25 years. Architecture, for me, has always been about the creation of beauty to edify all peoples around the world equally and to contribute to the evolution of this craft. The social impact of this discipline has been and will continue to be the guiding force in the experimentation that informs my practice." - Sir David Adjaye OBE, Architect and recipient of the Royal Gold Medal 2021.

See the list of Royal Gold Medal recipients from 1980 to 2021 (PDF).

Meet the RIBA Honours Committee 2022

The Honours Committee considers the nominations for the Royal Gold Medal and RIBA Honorary Fellowships.

See the full list of Royal Gold Medal Winners

See the list of Royal Gold Medal recipients from 1980 to 2021.

keyboard_arrow_up To top