IMPORTANT Read the RIBA's latest COVID-19 advice and information | Website terms of use and cookie statement

Royal Society of Architects in Wales

Main Building, St Fagans National Museum of History

Wales (RSAW)

The Royal Society of Architects in Wales/Cymdeithas Frenhinol Penseiri yng Nghymru (RSAW) is the voice of the RIBA in Wales. As part of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), the RSAW champions better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members.

Tracing its origins back to the late 19th century, the Royal Society of Architects in Wales (RSAW) was granted the Royal prefix in 1994 and represents and supports around 600 Chartered Members of our parent body, the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), who live and work in Wales.

RSAW strives to be an authoritative information source able to represent the voice of the architectural profession in Wales, bringing influence to bear on Welsh Government and related agencies.

With a staff team based in Cardiff and members in four branches, we promote the value of good design through awards schemes, exhibitions, festivals and conferences, regularly working in partnership with other professional bodies and Welsh national organisations. We connect with leading figures in the political and creative arenas through our Honorary Member programme.

Read RSAW's Review of the Year 2021 (PDF, 2.96 MB).

Banner image: Main Building, St Fagans National Museum of History by Purcell for Amgueddfa Cymru, National Museum Wales, winner of a Welsh Architecture Award 2019, RSAW Conservation Award 2019 and RSAW Building of the Year Award 2019. Photograph by Phil Boorman. 

Contact RSAW

Studio 111, The Creative Quarter, Morgan Arcade, Cardiff, CF10 1AF


RSAW's CPD and events programme is tailored to reflect the Welsh legislative and cultural context and to help practices of all sizes working in Wales to develop and thrive. Find CPD for you.

RSAW staff

Elinor Weekley, Director

Thomas Webb, Regional Engagement Partner

Bethan Proctor, Regional Engagement Partner

RSAW Council

The elected honorary officers of the RSAW Council set the priorities for each year.

RSAW Council members 2021/2022 Honorary officers:

Gavin Traylor, President

Ryan Stuckey,Immediate Past President 

RIBA Council members

Gavin Traylor, President

Ryan Stuckey, RSAW Representative

RSAW branches

There are four branches in Wales - each arranges regional activities for members.

Design Circle - RSAW South

For more information on Design Circle, please contact the branch chair:

Mid Wales Branch

For more information on the Mid Wales branch, please contact one of branch representatives:

North Wales Society of Architects

For more information on the North Wales Society of Architects, please contact the President:

West Wales Branch

For more information on the West Wales branch, please contact the branch chair:

Join the RIBA

The RIBA, its members and its practices are the collective voice of architecture. If you are a professional architect, a representative of a practice, a student of architecture, or if you work in a related industry, visit our Membership page.

keyboard_arrow_up To top