IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA North West

RIBA North West

RIBA North West represents over 4,000 Members and 300 Chartered Practices in the region

RIBA North West represents over 4,000 Members and 300 Chartered Practices in the region. Our geographical area covers the entire North West, including Manchester, Liverpool, Chester, Blackpool, Lancaster, Carlisle, The Lake District National Park, and the Isle of Man.

The North West team works closely with a lively network of volunteers, partners and regional stakeholders, including universities and local authorities, to champion better buildings, communities, and environments through architecture. The North West Regional Council ensures the voice of our Members is heard regionally and nationally.

Our activities include recognising outstanding architecture through our awards programme, promoting the profession, and supporting our branches to deliver a range of events for Members across the region.

We have several special interest groups currently active in the region. These initiatives include: Equity, diversity and inclusion; Practice and education; Sustainability, conservation and heritage committee; and Emerging practice group.

For more information and to get involved in any of these initiatives, please get in touch with the team:

Image credit: L’Ecurie at Dorfold Hall by ZOË POLYA-VITRY Ltd, RIBA North West Building of the Year 2023. Photo by Tim Lucas.

RIBA North West Branches

RIBA North West is comprised of six branches. The branches each have their own identity and organise a programme of activity to engage members in their respective areas. They are always keen to hear from members interested in getting involved - for more information use contact details:

Cheshire Society of Architects
Covering the Cheshire area including Chester, Runcorn, Knutsford and Nantwich. 
President: Lucy Crowther (Kepczyk Pearce Sanderson) 
LinkedIn: Cheshire Society of Architects
Instagram: @CheshireSocietyOfArchitects

Cumberland Society of Architects
Covering North and West Cumbria including Carlisle, Whitehaven, Penrith and the northern Lake District.
Co-presidents: Rebecca Clear (Miller Clear) and Tracey Hart (2030 Architects Ltd) 

Lancaster and Westmorland Society of Architects
Covering Lancaster and South Cumbria including Barrow, Kendal and Windermere.
President: Valerie Hinde (Valerie Hinde Architecture)

Liverpool Architectural Society
Covering Merseyside including Southport, St Helens, Liverpool and the Wirral.
President: Jonathon Kinnear (Falconer Chester Hall) 
LinkedIn: Liverpool Architectural Society
Instagram: @liverpoolarcsoc

Manchester Society of Architects
Covering Manchester and the Manchester City Region.
President: Jenny Etheridge (Ellis Williams Architects)
LinkedIn: Manchester Society of Architects
Instagram: @the_msa_

Lancashire Society of Architects
Covering most of Lancashire including Blackpool and Preston.
President: John Bridge (Studio John Bridge) 

Get in touch

​21 Mann Island, Liverpool Waterfront, L3 1BP

Facebook: @RIBANW

Instagram: @RIBANorthWest

LinkedIn: RIBA North West


RIBA, its members and its practices are the collective voice of architecture. If you are a professional architect, a representative of a practice, a student of architecture, or if you work in a related industry, visit our Membership page.

keyboard_arrow_up To top