IMPORTANT We’re aware of suspicious emails being sent to members. Read more about how we’re responding | Read the RIBA's latest COVID-19 advice and information | Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA Stirling Prize

Shortlist revealed for Stirling Prize 2021

The RIBA Stirling Prize is awarded to the UK’s best new building

RIBA Stirling Prize 2021

The RIBA Stirling Prize is the UK’s most prestigious architecture award. The award is given to the architect of the building thought to be the most significant of the year for the evolution of architecture and the built environment.

The six buildings contending for the coveted 2021 RIBA Stirling Prize have now been revealed.

Watch a video of the shortlisted buildings below.

Sponsored by  almacantar sponsor logo

RIBA Chair of Award Group Jo Bacon said:

“It has been a pleasure for the RIBA Awards Group to consider and visit over 200 buildings designed by our members this summer. A special thanks to all of the clients who have welcomed us into their projects, and of course all the jury members who have so generously volunteered their time and expertise.

In total 145 projects won Regional Awards and 54 projects won National Awards.

This year the Stirling Prize shortlist represents the value and diversity of architectural invention. Our members are exploring structural and environmental challenges to deliver civic places of value to our society. Each one of these projects has delivered best in class environmental standards while creating extraordinary architectural solutions appropriate to their context.

Our jury members recognised that these projects had a vision that was reflected in all aspects of the design. They demonstrate architectural and conceptual ambition while offering delight to both the owners and their visitors.”

RIBA Stirling Prize 2021 Jury

The jury's role is to visit each of the six buildings on the shortlist to decide which will be crowned the winner.

Members of the 2021 jury will be announced in the coming days. 

About the Stirling Prize

The RIBA Stirling Prize is judged against a range of criteria including design vision; innovation and originality; capacity to stimulate, engage and delight occupants and visitors; accessibility and sustainability; how fit the building is for its purpose and the level of client satisfaction.

The RIBA Awards are the most rigorously judged prizes for architectural excellence in the UK, with the winning buildings then eligible for the prestigious RIBA Stirling Prize. 

Born in 1996 out of its predecessor, The Building of the Year Award, The RIBA Stirling Prize is presented to RIBA Chartered Architects and International Fellows for buildings in the UK which have made the greatest contribution to the evolution of architecture over the past year.

The RIBA Stirling Prize is named afterJames Stirling. Stirling won the Royal Gold Medal in 1980 'in recognition of past achievements which exist in their own right, as well as the potential of unbuilt projects, both past and future, which are an inseparable part of the Stirling vocabulary'.

Often described as a 'prophet without honour in his own country', he did not live long enough to achieve the public recognition and success his peers achieved after his untimely death. He died, at the height of his powers, following a routine operation.

Awards process

keyboard_arrow_up To top