Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies
Bespoke Access Award RIBA Competition

Bespoke Access Award

Motionspot & Ryder Architecture
Competition | Past

​Bespoke Access Award

At a special event at the Palace of Westminster, Motionspot & Ryder Architecture were announced the winners of the inaugural Bespoke Access Awards, a competition to design fully accessible hotel rooms

Open Culture and Leisure

Motionspot & Ryder Architecture's winning entry, 'AllGo’, is a unique, universalised approach to hotel room design system to ensure that all hotel rooms are functional, flexible and accessible.

The competition attracted entries from around the world including submissions from Germany, Russia, Hong Kong and Canada. Entrants competed across a range of categories, including Product and Service Design, as well as the Celia Thomas Prize, worth £20,000 and believed to be the largest cash prize in the UK for a design concept.

The entries were judged by a panel which included Paralympic gold medalist Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson, Stirling Prize-winning architect Alan Stanton, and Baroness Celia Thomas herself, convened in the Autumn to assess the submissions.

Full list of winners:
  • Motionspot & Ryder Architecture, London
    Winners of the Celia Thomas Prize
  • PH Partnership Architects Ltd, Co. Durham
    Winners of the Product Design Category
  • Rawstudio Ltd, London
    Commended Entrants in the Product Design Category
  • Paul Cahillane Studio, London
    Winners of the Service Design Category
  • Pentan Architects, Cardiff
    Commended Entrants in the Service Design Category
  • Sepia Design Consultants Ltd, Hong Kong
    Commended Entrants

Full list of judges:
  • Robin Sheppard, Chairman, Bespoke Hotels Group
  • Celia, Baroness Thomas of Winchester, House of Lords
  • Alan Stanton OBE, Stanton Williams
  • Tanni, Baroness Grey-Thompson, Paralympic Gold Medallist, House of Lords
  • Rory Coonan, RIBA honorary fellow, Director of Architecture at the Arts Council of Great Britain (1992-97)
  • David Day, Senior Designer, Seymour Powell
keyboard_arrow_up To top