IMPORTANT We’re aware of suspicious emails being sent to members. Read more about how we’re responding | Read the RIBA's latest COVID-19 advice and information | Website terms of use and cookie statement

Halley VI

British Antarctic Survey
Competition | Past

Halley VI Research Station

The international competition to design a new scientific research station in one of the Earth's most extreme environments, Antarctica, was launched in 2004.

  • today ​Completed: 2013
  • place ​Antarctic
  • call ​Client: British Antarctic Survey
  • Project value: £23 million
Open International

The new complex designed by Hugh Broughton Architects with Faber Maunsell, replacing the previous Halley V Research Station, is on a floating ice shelf 900 miles from the South Pole.

The new station allows long-running research on global change to continue at the site where the ozone hole was discovered.

The winning scheme was designed by Hugh Broughton Architects, working with Faber Maunsell. It comprises six interconnected modules and is built on a series of mechanical legs on skis that will enable it to be relocated as and when necessary. It will home 16 people in the winter and 52 during the Antarctic summer.

Halley VI was officially completed and launched on the 5 February 2013 by the UK Minister for Science David Willetts who described the project as a 'triumph of British design'. The station featured as the Government's GREAT campaign as a showcase of great british innovation.

"In 2004 the British Antarctic Survey launched a very unusual and unique construction project, the design and build of an Antarctic Research Station fit for the 21st century. We needed creative, free thinking multi-discipline design teams to work closely with ourselves and a contractor outside of the normal construction procurement boundaries. We decided a competition would be the best way to attract the widest possible interest and achieve our aims. Who better than the internationally reknown RIBA Competitions Office to manage the process for us. The multi-stage competition was an overwhelming success and exceeded all of our expectations. The Competitions Office proved to be flexible, independent and professional, successfully managed the process from start to finish and I would recommend the RIBA to any client."Karl Tuplin, Halley VI Project Manager, British Antarctic Survey


  • British Construction Awards Best Project of Last 30 years
  • American Architecture Prize 2016 - Gold Award
  • American Society of Civil Engineers Outstanding Civil Engineering
  • Achievement Award 2015
  • Chicago Athenaeum International Architecture Award
  • International Design Awards First Prize: Institutional
  • American Society of Civil Engineers Award of Merit 2015
  • Civic Trust Award 2014
  • Civic Trust Awards Special Award for Sustainability 2014
  • ENR Best Global Education/Research Project 2014
  • ENR Best Global Project 2014
  • Architizer A+ Award 2014 (Higher Education/Research)
  • Architizer A+ Art and Science Award 2014
  • ICE 'Designed in London' Award 2014
  • RIBA International Award 2013
  • AIA UK Excellence in Design Winner 2013
  • RIBA International Award for Architecture 2013
  • BCI Awards International Project of the Year 2013
  • Structural Awards Award for Sustainability 2013
  • The British Safety Council International Safety Award 2011
keyboard_arrow_up To top