Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies

​RIBA Boyd Auger Scholarship

Image courtesy of Jo Ashbridge, RIBA Boyd Auger Scholar 2012

In 2007, Mrs Margot Auger donated a sum of money to the RIBA in memory of her late husband, the architect and civil engineer Boyd Auger, to create a funding scheme that would support and reward architecture students and graduates.

This became the RIBA Boyd Auger Scholarship; a £5,000 scholarship which aims to assist with closely defined research proposals by architecture students and graduates lasting between 6 and 12 months, which involve carefully planned and budgeted periods of international travel. The scholarship can also support graduates in a period of international work experience, but the emphasis should be on the opportunity to travel in the chosen location.

We are pleased to confirm that in 2019, the RIBA Boyd Auger Scholarship has been increased to £6,000.

To be eligible, applicants must:

  • be enrolled in a RIBA Part 1, 2 or 3 course in the UK or overseas, or
  • have been granted a place of study in a RIBA Part 2 course by the beginning of the period covered by the scholarship, or
  • have graduated from a RIBA Part 1 or 2 course within the past 5 years

Applications for 2019 are now open.  For more information and to make an application, please download and complete the application form and submit to

The deadline for receipt of applications is 5pm Thursday 27 June 2019.

Please note, applications received after this time will not be accepted.

If you have any questions regarding this scholarship which are not answered in the downloadable application form, please email

RIBA Boyd Auger Scholars:

  • 2008: Stefanie Rhodes, Bo Tang, Shamoon Patwari (joint nomination)
  • 2009: Isona Shibata, Roderick Bow, James Patterson Waterson (shared award)
  • 2011: John Killock
  • 2012: Jo Ashbridge
  • 2013: Laura Minca
  • 2014: Matthew Lucraft
  • 2015: Matthew Eberhard, Lucy Paton, Benedetta Rogers, Anthony Staples (joint nomination)
  • 2016: Laura Evans
  • 2017: Imogen Softley-Pierce
  • 2018:  Luka Pajovic & Marie Braithwaite (separate projects)

keyboard_arrow_up To top