IMPORTANT Read the RIBA's latest COVID-19 advice and information | Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA Part 2 Bursary

The aim of the RIBA Part 2 Bursary scheme is to provide long-term financial support to Part 2 architecture students, who demonstrate talent and commitment to their studies and who might struggle to cover the costs of living and course-related expenditure.

Successful applicants studying full-time will receive £1,000 per term throughout the course of their Part 2 to a maximum of £6,000. Successful part-time applicants will receive the same maximum amount in payments proportionate to the length of their studies.

The 2022 bursaries have been made possible thanks to generous donations by Margot Auger, Joanna Lewinski, Donald and Nancy Notley, the Rosenberg Memorial Fund, and the Walter Parker Trust.

Eligibility criteria

To be eligible to apply for this bursary in the 2022 application cycle, applicants must be in the process of applying for a RIBA Part 2 course in the UK beginning the following September.

Applicants do not need to have a place confirmed at the time of applying but will need to list their first and second university choices in the application.

Proof of enrolment will be required before the bursary is paid to successful applicants.

Home, EU, and international students are eligible to apply.

Selection criteria

Applications will be assessed by members of the RIBA Education Development Group, using the following criteria:

  • evidence of their academic performance, commitment to studies, and potential contribution to the profession
  • a demonstration of financial need
  • a clear consideration of their future goals and aspirations as an architecture student, and how they hope to achieve them

How to apply

The 2022 application cycle has now closed. If you have submitted an application in this cycle, then you will be contacted with an update in due course. For any questions regarding an existing application, please email Gillian Harrison.

The next application cycle will open in March 2023.


If you have any questions about this bursary, please contact Gillian Harrison.

RIBA Part 2 Bursary 2021 recipients, left-right from top left: Ellisse Dixon; Adam Cowan; Alex Turner; Rachael Milliner; Oluwademilade Oyeyinka; Dimitar Zhelev; Mayce Arebi.

2021 RIBA Part 2 Bursary recipients

Sarah Abushamah, Manchester School of Architecture

Mayce Arebi, Manchester School of Architecture

Adam Cowan, The Glasgow School of Art (WJ Parker bursary)

Ellisse Dixon, University of Cambridge (Rosenberg bursary)

Rachael Milliner, Architectural Association School of Architecture (Donald and Nancy Notley bursary)

Oluwademilade Oyeyinka, Architectural Association School of Architecture (Rosenberg bursary)

Alex Turner, RIBA Studio (Rosenberg bursary)

Dimitar Zhelev, University of Sheffield (Boyd Auger bursary)

The 2021 bursaries were made possible thanks to generous donations from the Rosenberg Memorial Fund, Donald and Nancy Notley, the WJ Parker Trust, and Margot Auger (in memory of her late husband, the architect Boyd Auger), as well as other donations received through the RIBA Education Fund.

keyboard_arrow_up To top