Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies
RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarships

​RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarships

The RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarships were established in March 2013 following a donation by The Wren Insurance Association Limited, an architects’ professional indemnity mutual that comprises 66 of the UK’s leading architectural practices.

Image courtesy of Victoria Slater, 2014 Wren Insurance Association Scholar

The scholarships aim to support outstanding Part 2 students who have the potential to make a significant contribution in the field of architecture. Recipients receive £6,000 each and the opportunity to be mentored by an architect member of the Wren.

Since 2013, the scheme has supported 30 talented recipients who continue to shape the future of the profession.

To be eligible to apply for this scholarship, applicants must:

  • have graduated from a RIBA Part 1 professional qualification course in Architecture in a higher education institution in the UK, and
  • at the time of application, be enrolled in a RIBA Part 2 professional qualification course in Architecture in a higher education institution in the UK and be starting the final year in September 2019.

Applications for 2019 are now open.  

To apply, please complete an application form and submit alongside the required supporting documentation to

Details of the required supporting documentation can be found in the application form.

The deadline for receipt of applications has been extended to 9am on Monday 10 June 2019.

If you have any questions about this scholarship which are not covered in the application form, please email

Image courtesy of Dominic Walker, 2018 Wren Insurance Association Scholar

Comments from previous recipients:

Dominic Walker, The Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL (2018)

"The RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarship has been pivotal in the development of my fifth-year work at the Bartlett. My work this year has been concerned with the various speculations of the origins of architecture throughout time. While It is impossible to ascertain the absolute origins of architecture, it is certainly an interesting stimulus for a critique of our contemporary situation in architecture.

The scholarship has enabled me to visit the Orkney Islands which is home to some of the oldest remains of human civilisation in the UK. My interest in the primitive language of late-modernism has taken me to St. Peter’s church in Sweden by Sigurd Lewerentz and Le Corbusier’s La Tourette near Lyon. These study visits have inspired the design of a building to host the 2050 UN climate summit on an uninhabited island within the Orkney islands. The climate summit is a fitting programme with which to consider both the beginnings and the endings of architecture.

I have made a number of large-scale cast models to test these ideas, which would not have been possible without the financial aid of the scholarship. The exposure to the Wren Insurance Association and the RIBA has also filled me with ideas on how I might continue my research into practice."

Love Di Marco, Architectural Association School of Architecture (2018)

"Thanks to the RIBA Wren Insurance Association Scholarship, I have had the incredible opportunity to continue my architecture studies at the Architectural Association School of Architecture and to establish a professional network through the mentoring process with members of the Wren that I hope will help me as a young practitioner.

It has not only allowed me to focus whole-heartedly on my studies but also to engage with and interrogate the question of how we as young architects can find alternative ways of practising today, through the co-creation of a lecture and publication series called Critical Practice.

With the worrying rise in student debt nationwide, initiatives like the Wren Scholarship are crucial to help reduce the risks that many students increasingly face on their path towards qualification."

keyboard_arrow_up To top