Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies

RIBA announces judges of 2019 President’s Medals

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has revealed the names of the judges who will be selecting this year’s winners of the RIBA Bronze, Silver, and Dissertation Medals.

Awarded for the first time in 1836, the President's Medals are the RIBA’s oldest awards, and are regarded as the most prestigious awards in architectural education worldwide. The Bronze and Silver Medals are awarded to the best design projects completed by students during, respectively, RIBA Part 1 or Part 2 courses (or equivalent), whereas the Dissertation Medal rewards accomplished written work produced at either RIBA Part 1 or Part 2 (or equivalent).

The 2019 Dissertation Medal judging panel will include:

  • Chair: Harriet Harriss (Dean of Architecture at the Pratt Institute, NY, USA)
  • Nick Axel (deputy editor at e-flux Architecture)
  • Shawn Rickenbacker (Associate Professor of Architecture and Director of the J. Max Bond Center for Urban Futures at the City University of New York)
  • Ingrid Schröder (Director of the MPhil in Architecture and Urban Design at the University of Cambridge)
  • Sally Stewart (Head of the Mackintosh School of Architecture at The Glasgow School of Art)

The Bronze Medal panel will include:

  • Chair: David Gloster (RIBA Director of Education)
  • Nicky Watson (elected RIBA Council member & RIBA Vice-President Education)
  • Liliana Giraldo Arias (Dean of the School of Architecture of the University of La Salle, Colombia 2006-2018; currently Director of Urban Planning of Colombia’s National Planning Department)
  • Sheila O’Donnell (Founder and Director of O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects)
  • Liam Ross (architect and senior lecturer in architectural design at the Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture)
  • Narinder Sagoo (Senior Partner and Art Director at Foster + Partners)

The RIBA Silver Medal panel will feature:

  • Chair: David Gloster (RIBA Director of Education)
  • Nicky Watson (elected RIBA Council member & RIBA Vice-President Education)
  • Jennifer Bonner (Founder of MALL, a creative practice for art and architecture; Associate Professor of Architecture and Director of the Master’s in Architecture II Programme at Harvard University)
  • Pereen D’Avoine (Founder and Director of Russian for Fish Architects; Tutor at London Metropolitan University)
  • Don Gray (Emeritus Professor of Architecture, Founder and Head of the Kent School of Architecture 2005-2019; Chair of the Standing Conference of Heads of Schools of Architecture – SCHOSA)
  • Jonathan Hale (Professor of Architectural Theory at the University of Nottingham)

The winners of the 2019 RIBA President’s Medals will be announced at a ceremony in London on 3 December. For more information, visit

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top