Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies

11 buildings shortlisted for RIBA North West Awards 2019

A bus station, a hospital building and a charity headquarters are among the 11 buildings which have been shortlisted for this year’s RIBA North West Awards.

Preston Bus Station refurbishment by John Puttick Associates with Cassidy + Ashton © Gareth Gardner

RIBA North West Interim Director, Tom Mills, welcomed the news:

“The North West region continues to play host to a remarkable array of delightful, carefully-crafted buildings. I congratulate all practices who have been shortlisted in this competitive process. The longlist for the 2019 North West Awards was of exceptional high calibre, with entries received from a range of national and international practices. It’s great to see so many North West-based practices in the running, representing the wealth of talent that we have in our region.”

Alder Hey Hospital – Institute in the Park by Hopkins Architects © Richard Brine

This year’s shortlisted projects are:

  • A Restorative Rural Retreat for Sartfell, Isle of Man by Foster Lomas
  • Alder Hey Hospital – Institute in the Park, Liverpool by Hopkins Architects
  • Farnworth House, Widnes by Smith Young Architects
  • Irwell Riverside, Salford by shedkm
  • Market Hall, Isle of Man by horncastle:thomas with Brinkworth Design
  • Mustard Tree, Ancoats, Manchester by OMI Architects
  • Ordsall Chord, Manchester by BDP
  • Preston Bus Station refurbishment, Preston by John Puttick Associates with Cassidy + Ashton
  • Roof Gardens, Manchester by Ollier Smurthwaite Architects
  • The Lookout, Pettypool, Cheshire by Walker Simpson Architects Ltd
  • Two St Peter’s Square, Manchester by SimpsonHaugh

Mustard Tree by OMI Architects © Paul Karalius

All shortlisted buildings will now be assessed by a regional jury with the winning buildings announced at an awards ceremony at Manchester School of Art on Wednesday 8 May.

Several RIBA Special Awards will also be announced including the RIBA Sustainability Award sponsored by Michelmersh and RIBA Project Architect of the Year sponsored by Taylor Maxwell.

If successful, the Regional Award winners will be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize, the best new building of the year, will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings in July and the Stirling Prize winner will be announced in October.

If you are a member of the press wanting more information on the RIBA North West Awards shortlist (including access to images) then please email

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top