Use of cookies
We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies
RIBA House of the Year 2017 longlist announced

The UK’s spectacular new homes - longlist of homes in the running for the RIBA House of the Year

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the longlist for the 2017 RIBA House of the Year Award, the UK’s most prestigious award for a new house or extension.

Clockwise from top left: Woodsman's Treehouse (photo: Sandy Steele-Perkins), Highgate House (photo: Hélène Binet), Redshank (photo: Hélène Binet), Oxfordshire Residence (photo: Hufton + Crow), Ness Point (photo: Nick Guttridge), Edinburgh Road (photo: Matthew Johnson)

Highlights this year include:

  • a self-build treehouse in Dorset - complete with its own suspension bridge and slide Woodsman's Treehouse
  • a striking, contemporary brick house with full-height picture windows in a north London conservation area (Highgate House)
  • a quirky cork-clad holiday home that floats above Essex marshland (Redshank)
  • a modern country house in the Oxfordshire Cotswolds (Oxfordshire residence)
  • a contemporary house hunkered into the hills over the White Cliffs of Dover (Ness Point)
  • a refurbishment and extension of a Scottish steading built into the sea wall at Musselburgh (Edinburgh Rd)

The 2017 RIBA House of the Year longlist:

House Architects Location


Peacock House

BHSF Architekten with Studio-P

Aldeburgh, Suffolk, England



Lisa Shell Architects Ltd with Marcus Taylor

St Osyth , Essex, England


Shawm House

MawsonKerr Architects

West Woodburn, Northumberland, England


No 49

31/44 Architects

Hither Green, London


The Cooperage

Chris Dyson Architects

Clerkenwell, London


Hidden House

Coffey Architects

Clerkenwell, London


Whole House

Hayhurst and Co.

Balham, London


6 Wood Lane

Birds Portchmouth Russum Architects

Highgate, London


Highgate House

Carmody Groarke

Highgate, London


Cob Corner

David Sheppard Architects

Ivybridge, Devon, England


Hill House

Mike Keys and Anne Claxton

Bath, England


The Quest

Strom Architects

Swanage, Dorset, England


Woodsman's Treehouse

Brownlie Ernst and Marks Limited

Thorncombe, Dorset, England


Oxfordshire Residence

Richard Meier & Partners Architects LLP with Berman Guedes Stretton

Oxfordshire, England


Caring Wood

James Macdonald Wright and Niall Maxwell

Near Maidstone, Kent, England


South Street

Sandy Rendel Architects Ltd.

Lewes, East Sussex, England


Ness Point

Tonkin Liu

Dover, Kent, England


Newhouse of Auchengee

Ann Nisbet Studio

Ayrshire, Scotland


Edinburgh Rd

A449 Architects

Edinburgh, Scotland


Fernaig Cottage

Scampton and Barnett Architects

Wester Ross, Scotland

The RIBA House of the Year shortlist and winner will be announced this autumn.


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information contact Howard Crosskey in the RIBA press office: | +44 (0)20 7307 3761
  2. The RIBA House of the Year award is awarded every year to the best new house or house extension designed by an architect in the UK. It was created in 2001 and for many years presented by the RIBA as the Manser Medal. Previous winners include Richard Murphy Architects for Murphy House (2016), Skene Catling de la Peña for Flint House (2015) and Loyn & Co for Stormy Castle (2014).
  3. SPONSOR: Paint & Paper Library was founded over twenty years ago in London by interior designer David Oliver. Providing inspiration, colour expertise and design ideas for interior decorators, architects and specifiers worldwide, they offer a distinguished palette of 180 unique colours, manufactured to exceptionally high standards in the UK.
  4. The RIBA Awards have been running continuously since 1966 and are judged and presented locally. No matter the shape, size, budget or location, RIBA Award winning schemes set the standard for great architecture all across the country. RIBA Awards are for buildings in the UK by RIBA Chartered Architects and RIBA International Fellows. Entries are to be submitted to the region or nation in which the building is situated. Winners are considered for the RIBA Stirling Prize.
  5. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment.

    Follow @RIBA on Twitter for regular updates.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top