IMPORTANT INFORMATION COVID-19: Read the RIBA’s latest advice and information. | Website terms of use and cookie statement.

Meet the RIBA House of the Year 2019 Jury

07 November 2019

Starting on Wednesday 23 October, the 20 projects competing to be crowned RIBA House of the Year will start being featured on Channel 4's Grand Designs: House of the Year. Make sure you tune in at 9pm every Wednesday to find out the personal stories behind some of the UK's most amazing new homes, before the winner is announced on Wednesday 13 November's show

In the meantime, we introduce the expert jury members who have the task of selecting the 2019 RIBA House of the Year.

John Pardey, John Pardey Architects: Jury Chair

John Pardey graduated from the Polytechnic of Central London in 1983, winning the Banister Fletcher Dissertation Prize. He founded John Pardey Architects (JPA) in 1988, specialising in one-off houses and unique residential housing schemes, winning multiple national and international awards.

John has held lecturing posts at the London South Bank, Westminster, Canterbury and Portsmouth Schools of Architecture and is an external examiner at both Cardiff and Oxford Brookes.

He is the author of several books on architecture, and has previously been a member of the RIBA Awards Group and CABE's National Design Review Panel.

John Pardey, John Pardey Architects

Tom Miller, HaysomWardMiller Architects: 2018 winner (Lochside House)

Tom studied architecture at the University of Cambridge, qualifying in 1996. He worked initially for David Lea in North Wales, a practice that specialised in combining low energy design and sustainable materials with a thoughtful and humane modernism.

Tom returned to Cambridge and established Haysom Ward Miller Architects (with Patrick Ward and Rowan Haysom) in 2005. He has taught at the University of Cambridge and contributed to books on both David Lea and MH Baillie Scott and writes an occasional column in the Financial Times.

Haysom Ward Miller Architects won the 2018 RIBA House of the Year for Lochside House, which the judges described as "an example of humble, grounded, contextual yet powerful architecture that people can aspire to and be inspired by."

Tom Miller, HaysomWardMiller Architects

Have you designed or commissioned the next RIBA House of the Year? Enter it for the 2020 RIBA Awards to have it considered for next year. Entries open on 12 December.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top