IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

Nine projects shortlisted for 2023 RIBA West Midlands Awards

A faculty building and a repurposed 19th century barn are among the nine buildings to have been shortlisted for the 2023 RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) West Midlands Awards.

27 February 2023

Nine buildings, ranging from a faculty building to a repurposed 19th century barn, have been shortlisted for 2023 RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) West Midlands Awards.  

Two Chamberlain Square by Glenn Howells Architects. Image: Hufton+Crow

The shortlisted projects are:  

University of Wolverhampton School of Architecture and the Built Environment by Associated Architects with Rodney Melville and Partners. Image: Hufton and Crow

RIBA West Midlands Jury Chair Will Gamble, Architect at Will Gamble Architects, said: 

"This year’s shortlist celebrates the rich tapestry of architecture that is found within the West Midlands, in both rural and urban settings. There is a strong emphasis on responding to our historic environment through adaptive reuse and sensitive contextual design. Each project demonstrates how low carbon technologies can be successfully integrated into well crafted buildings - raising the benchmark for holistic design.” 

Cruck Framed House by Flint Architecture with Arrol Architects. Image: Richard Stonehouse

All shortlisted projects will be assessed by a regional jury, and the winning projects will be announced later this Spring.  

Regional Award winners are considered for several RIBA Special Awards including the RIBA Sustainability Award and the RIBA Building of the Year. 

Regional Award winners will also be considered for a highly coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in the Summer.   

The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year in the UK will then be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning projects, and the Stirling Prize winner will be announced in October.  

The RIBA Small Project of the Year is sponsored by Gaggenau and RIBA Building of the Year is sponsored by EH Smith. The Sustainability Award is sponsored by Autodesk.

If you are a member of the press seeking more information on the RIBA West Midlands Awards shortlist (including access to images) please email Eleanor Finlay.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top