IMPORTANT Website terms of use and cookie statement

RIBA AHR Stephen Williams Scholarship 2016 winner

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and AHR have announced Boon Yik Chung as the 2016/17 winner of the RIBA AHR Stephen Williams Scholarship.

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and AHR have announced Boon Yik Chung as the 2016/17 winner of the RIBA AHR Stephen Williams Scholarship.

Boon Yik Chung completed his Part 1 at the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL and was awarded the RIBA President’s Bronze Medal in December 2015. He is currently working at muf architecture/art LLP and will be starting his MArch (RIBA Part 2) in September 2016, continuing at the Bartlett School of Architecture.

The scholarship will offer Boon personal academic mentoring by a member of staff at AHR and a £5,000 grant towards his studies.

The judges were also impressed by the work of Emily Priest, Architectural Association, and AHR generously awarded her an additional £1,000 as a commendation prize.

Director of AHR, Brian Johnson said:

“With a record number of entries and increasingly higher standards of submissions this year the judges faced a real challenge in selecting an overall winner. This year’s successful applicant, Boon is a worthy recipient of the Stephen Williams RIBA AHR Stephen Williams Award and AHR are delighted to be able support him in his continuing education with this scholarship. Emily’s commendation recognises her talent and once again AHR are delighted to support her to realise her ambitions to enter the profession.”

RIBA President Jane Duncan said:

“Boon is clearly an exceptional student, and I am delighted that we have been able to award him the RIBA AHR Stephen Williams Scholarship to support his Part 2 studies. The standard of entries was outstanding, and I would like to thank AHR for recognising this and awarding a supplementary commendation.”

The judging panel consisted of from Laura Collins (Arcadis LLP and previous recipient of the scholarship), Jane Duncan (RIBA President), Brian Johnson (Director, AHR), David Simister (Creative Director, AHR) and Tony Watson (Education Trust Funds Committee).


Notes to editors:

  1. For further press information contact Callum Reilly in the RIBA Press Office: 020 7307 3757
  2. The Scholarship was established in 2008 and is offered in memory of Stephen Williams, a past Director of Aedas (since renamed as AHR).
  3. Since 2008, the scholarship has been awarded to Laura Collins (University of Sheffield, 2009/10), Henry Fisher (University of Bath 2010/11), Joseph Deane (Royal College of Art 2011/12), Kerry Watton (Mackintosh School of Architecture, Glasgow School of Art, 2012/13), Mick Scott (Oxford Brookes University 2013/14), Chloe Anderson (London Metropolitan University 2014/15), and Jonathan Connerney (Queen’s University Belfast 2015/16).
  4. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment. Visit and follow us on Twitter @RIBA
  5. AHR has a long-standing reputation for award-winning design and the creation of innovative places and environments.

    AHR is one of the UK’s most established architecture and building consultancy practices, with experience dating back to 1835. Today AHR has evolved into an international business encompassing 450 staff in 13 offices.

    The practice is currently working on a new headquarters for Blackpool Council, two major retail projects in Pakistan and a series of schools under the government’s Priority Schools Building Programme. Earlier this year AHR completed Heathrow Terminal 2 MSCP, and in 2013 completed the multi award-winning Al Bahr Towers in Abu Dhabi.

Latest updates

keyboard_arrow_up To top